Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Ground graphical issue (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=102639)

Archived Post 02-04-2010 12:26 PM

Ground graphical issue
 
Ok when I do ground missions i get this graphics error- no idea what it is or how to fix it- tried new drivers everything but it wotn go away- here are some screenshots of it.

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/a...3-13-43-00.jpg

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/a...3-13-44-23.jpg

the black round circles on the floor- that glitch seems to move with me in a big box pattern on the floor.

Archived Post 02-04-2010 12:30 PM

In options set "70's disco dance floor style" to off and you should be good to go ;)


Sorry mate could not resist,I am at a loss with this if you have updated your drivers,not sure if there is a /flush screen command in the game,maybe someone else will know.

Archived Post 02-04-2010 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sinhealer
In options set "70's disco dance floor style" to off and you should be good to go ;)


Sorry mate could not resist,I am at a loss with this if you have updated your drivers,not sure if there is a /flush screen command in the game,maybe someone else will know.

Actually lol- as when i move the whole block moves with me and all thsoe little black dots kinda shake so it looks like a dance floor when i am moving - btw this graphical error only happens when i first start combat and only happens when i am indoors in places liek this- if i beam down to planets outside i dont get this graphical artifact- nor do i get it in space

Archived Post 02-04-2010 01:44 PM

anyone know what causes this please?

Archived Post 02-04-2010 04:24 PM

Looks like a texture corruption issue, does this always happen or can you get it to go away by changing a video setting or restarting the game/computer?

What model video card are you running (specific details)

Archived Post 02-05-2010 05:25 AM

I use a geforce 9500gt - it allways happens as soon as i start combat inside a building - doesnt happen outdoors or in space.
changing a video setting or restarting a pc doesnt help - btw in one screenshot i posted you see the dots- i have a screenshot in the same place where i make a 60 degree turn and the dots go away- then i turn back to the spot where i see the dots and they reappear - very wierd graphical bug- it also stays with me when i run- if i beam up to the ship then beam down it goes away till i start ground combat again indoors.

Archived Post 02-05-2010 05:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Barbarella
Ok when I do ground missions i get this graphics error- no idea what it is or how to fix it- tried new drivers everything but it wotn go away- here are some screenshots of it.

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/a...3-13-43-00.jpg

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/a...3-13-44-23.jpg

the black round circles on the floor- that glitch seems to move with me in a big box pattern on the floor.

Looks like a Driver Issue or GPU Memory Issue

Two things come to mind looking at the picture. Normal maps and reflections. I can see reflections working in the picture but the GPU might be running low on memory.

Try adjusting these settings 1 at a time by themselves and finally by turning them all off.

Lighting Quality
Reflections
Post Process Effects
Shadows

Make sure SSAO and Depth of Field are both disabled at the bottom in the video options while you debug it.

Lastly with those options all disabled log out in the area your having problems and reload the client and log back in and resume your mission to see if its a memory related issue. As someone else already asked about a /flush command they want to clear memory for testing.

Also make sure Tripple Buffering is disabled in the Nvidia control panel under advanced 3D settings.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.