Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Crashing at LoR loading Screen? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=1030601)

wormholeproject 02-21-2014 08:04 PM

Crashing at LoR loading Screen?
 
This issue seems to happen intermittently after a patch, sometimes (read: rarely) I'll have a patch that causes no issues and the game launches fine, but lately (especially after this last patch) I haven't been able to launch the game once because it crashes at the LoR loading screen. I have updated my video drivers, verified the game files several times, but still no success. I won't go into ranting that I can't spend money on the game if I can't play it (I hope to be more rational than that), but I would just like to be able to play since I unfortunately have not been able to do so for a while...:(

I'm hoping y'all can be of help, you seem to be pretty smart folks here :D. (if you need anything like dxdiag files, system specs, etc. I'll happily post them up. I just want to play!

shadowwraith77 02-21-2014 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wormholeproject (Post 15288521)
This issue seems to happen intermittently after a patch, sometimes (read: rarely) I'll have a patch that causes no issues and the game launches fine, but lately (especially after this last patch) I haven't been able to launch the game once because it crashes at the LoR loading screen. I have updated my video drivers, verified the game files several times, but still no success. I won't go into ranting that I can't spend money on the game if I can't play it (I hope to be more rational than that), but I would just like to be able to play since I unfortunately have not been able to do so for a while...:(

I'm hoping y'all can be of help, you seem to be pretty smart folks here :D. (if you need anything like dxdiag files, system specs, etc. I'll happily post them up. I just want to play!

Do you have ARC as the primary installer of the game client?

natewest1 02-22-2014 09:26 AM

I have been having the same problem. I now NEED to open the game with ARC i order to get it to work.

projectfrontier 02-22-2014 09:50 AM

"Crash after patch" you say?

This happens on every system I've used after every patch, at least under Window Vista, 7, and 8 even with freshly installed copies.

The solution?

Ignore the crash-dialog your operating system throws at you and leave the client alone, it should finish loading though it may take several minutes.

The cause?

If STO's engine works the way some other engines work the system may be choking post install/patch collecting operating variables.

wormholeproject 02-22-2014 10:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadowwraith77 (Post 15290361)
Do you have ARC as the primary installer of the game client?

I was running it through both ARC and the original cryptic launcher (to get the free lobi and shuttle. ARC is gone...for now at least.) I find it funny though, you launch ARC to launch the cryptic launcher...it seems unnecessarily complex.

Quote:

Originally Posted by projectfrontier (Post 15295541)
"Crash after patch" you say?

This happens on every system I've used after every patch, at least under Window Vista, 7, and 8 even with freshly installed copies.

The solution?

Ignore the crash-dialog your operating system throws at you and leave the client alone, it should finish loading though it may take several minutes.

The cause?

If STO's engine works the way some other engines work the system may be choking post install/patch collecting operating variables.

I think this might be the case. After one more frustrated try last night I let the game run, it did the Win7 grey-out not responding dialogue, I tabbed out to my browser to waste time, and lo and behold, it got to my character select screen after a couple minutes.

I'm going to try and trial run this a couple times to see if this is the case (because in one instance it did really crash out and I got the cryptic error reporter, but only once).

Thanks all!

daqhegh 02-22-2014 12:22 PM

Same thing here. I used to use the Cryptic launcher, but it would take forever (or never) load in. So I removed it and installed Arc. Well, it worked fine until now. Now I'm back to the old way of logging in. It took me 8 - 12 tried with the old launcher ON AVEREGE. No telling how difficult Arc is going to make things.

I just don't see how a patch could prevent log in. That's the part I'm lost on.

projectfrontier 02-22-2014 01:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daqhegh (Post 15297561)
Same thing here. I used to use the Cryptic launcher, but it would take forever (or never) load in. So I removed it and installed Arc. Well, it worked fine until now. Now I'm back to the old way of logging in. It took me 8 - 12 tried with the old launcher ON AVEREGE. No telling how difficult Arc is going to make things.

I just don't see how a patch could prevent log in. That's the part I'm lost on.

the patch seems to force the game to collect game-required data from the system/game-files every time the game's file library changes.

And that is causing the game to appear to crash.

Now do you understand?

daqhegh 02-22-2014 10:03 PM

I understand, but it doesn't just appear to crash. It becomes unresponsive for a long time (more than a few minutes) and I have to force close the game and restart it.

alpha1982 02-26-2014 02:07 PM

I am struggling to get the game to load as well I get to the rom loading screen the my screen stops work and it says my gameclient.exe is not responding I am not very good with comps and I dont know what to do to fix this can anyone help me with this please

icyglaze 02-26-2014 07:46 PM

I was having the same issue before this most recent patch. I resolved it by going to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Perfect World Entertainment\Star Trek Online_en\localdata" and deleting the .pref file there. Next, I would run the launcher, causing it to generate a new .pref. At this point the game would make it past the LoR loading screen and into the game.

Buuuuut since the last patch, this muddy work-around no longer works.

Idk if this helps at all, but if anyone can go on from this, great! If not, There's always SWTOR.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.