Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Star Trek Online General Discussion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   @DEV's: K7 - Scaling & Textures ...suggestion, PIMPED K7 pics inside! (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=124380)

Archived Post 02-22-2010 08:49 AM

@DEV's: K7 - Scaling & Textures ...suggestion, PIMPED K7 pics inside!
 
We all know the scaling of DS9 and K7 are way off, because the Dev's want them just bigger for the BIG instances (i yet have to see more then 10 ships arround DS9 though)

...ok i just cut to the Point!

K7:
you decided to go with the Canon Optics of the Station, yet K7 is a VERY small station that is not much bigger then a small Constitution Class, it is more like a Silo in Space.

original K7 look:
http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...ytruce_r08.jpg

Ingame, from far away it looks just fine:
http://s5b.directupload.net/images/100222/vc2xvrby.jpg

but if you get close:
http://s4b.directupload.net/images/100222/mbnmorjl.jpg
uuuuh? COME ON! The Windows are bigger then my Ship !? ...even the Textures are horrible from close up.


now what you gonna do? scale K7 down? not going to happen... i guess

I FOUND THE PERFECT SOLUTION :

http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...e_leave_03.jpg
http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...untitled92.jpg

It might not be 100% Canon but it is a compromise, you allways could say that K7 got rebuild somewhere between TOS and STO with bigger size but same design making it one of the more important Space Stations.


...oh and proper Docking Procedures would be nice too, would give us something to do in those *Warp In - Full Impulse - Beam Down*-Instances and improve immersion.

Archived Post 02-22-2010 10:49 AM

.......thoughts?

Archived Post 02-22-2010 10:59 AM

You links under Perfect Solution dont work.

But I agree that K7 is too big.

Archived Post 02-22-2010 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Z3R0B4NG (Post 2176205)
.......thoughts?

whats stopping them from upgrading the station after all those years? module by module?

a station that close to the boarder would not be left to age out of the era... at least i would think.

Archived Post 02-22-2010 11:05 AM

Just a note, the bigger the surface, the worse the texture'll look. Only option's either using higher resolution textures, place a different texture scaling, or cut the station into multiple peices, none of which are all that easy.

Archived Post 02-22-2010 11:10 AM

higher resolution textures would be very much needed for K7, yes.... DS9 looks fine though (a little big on the windows too but the Windows on the inside are bigger too ).

...
links work fine for me but here you go again:

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/mweuw...e_leave_03.jpg
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/qmjaz3dz/untitled92.jpg

Archived Post 02-22-2010 11:51 AM

http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/sc...tion-chart.jpg
http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/sc...leet-chart.jpg

K-7: 450m
Akira Class: 440m


1:1 scale would be crazy to use for K-7, but having as big as it is and using textures, for the Windows as it were 1:1 scale is also crazy.



another thing: in Sector Space, please show the Stations, it was done for DS9 (the inner ring is missing there btw.) and that one Fleet Action base, Starbase 39 in the Sierra Sector and K-7 should Also be displayed in Sector Space!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.