Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Builds, Powers, and Game Mechanics (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=219)
-   -   would i be cheating if I.... (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=150122)

Archived Post 04-12-2010 07:08 AM

would i be cheating if I....
 
.....changed BO's out of combat to reset the skills?

like if i had 3 engineer officers. all have 2nd slot with rsp.

each time i use it. i can wait till combat ends. or die. and change out to next officer and have rsp up and ready for the next fight.

is this cheating?

Archived Post 04-12-2010 10:36 AM

Hehehe... I figured that out in PvE you rotate Sci team and HZ but never tried it in pvp, mwuhahahaha.

Archived Post 04-12-2010 11:14 AM

it feals dirty. but is it cheating? I dont really know.

Archived Post 04-12-2010 05:20 PM

The Dev's did stop the practice of changing Personal Firearms in combat to get around the cool-down restrictions. Switching BOs in a action to get around the cool-down restrictions sounds like the same kind of practice, so I wouldn't make this a habit...

Archived Post 04-12-2010 06:00 PM

Thats definitely not cheating...

Its "taking advantage" of something the Devs didnt thought through very well. Probably once this makes the round it will be changed very fast, but as long as its possible and people dont need to exploit some kind of bug to make this "feature" available I dont see anybody getting punished for doing so.

Archived Post 04-12-2010 06:07 PM

You can't swap bridge officer assignments mid battle. But when red alert is not active, you can swap them.

Archived Post 04-15-2010 11:17 AM

is it cheating, no, is it doable, yes, is it realistic, yes.
look at it this way. Bridge DUTY (key word) is set on a rotation. your rotating your officers because you need an ability they have. Major league baseball teams rotate pitchers at times just for certain situations. why can't you do it to get an ability you need? to put it in a RPG mode you are bringing in a specialist to do a job, someone who is skilled at it. I do it when i need to all the time. Out of Combat, it doesn't matter, IN COMBAT, is cheating. Out, is just part of daily bridge duty

Archived Post 04-15-2010 11:21 AM

Mr. Worf you have the con.

Archived Post 04-15-2010 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyuui (Post 2558250)
is it cheating, no, is it doable, yes, is it realistic, yes.
look at it this way. Bridge DUTY (key word) is set on a rotation. your rotating your officers because you need an ability they have. Major league baseball teams rotate pitchers at times just for certain situations. why can't you do it to get an ability you need? y

Because the cool-down is suppose to represent the limitation of the equipment, not the limitation of the person operating the equipment... If you want to use the same baseball analogy, if a thunderstorm is causing a rain delay at the stadium, swapping players won't do a thing to shorten the delay. And you can't just swap stadiums to get around the issue...

Archived Post 04-15-2010 11:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
Because the cool-down is suppose to represent the limitation of the equipment, not the limitation of the person operating the equipment... If you want to use the same baseball analogy, if a thunderstorm is causing a rain delay at the stadium, swapping players won't do a thing to shorten the delay. And you can't just swap stadiums to get around the issue...

actually, no, at least not to me. the cool down on a Bridge officer ABILITY is that, an ABILITY, something they, do, not the ship. the way i look at it is if i can click on a BO to get the ability i want, then i can change the assignment. the Thunderstorm isn't something i can control no. but i can bring in a lefty to throw against a lefty. that's all I do, bring in someone i need for something then go right back. My current ship and assignment roster by passes that since I'm a Sci officer in a Destiny hull, I've got 4 heals now. when i didn't i did it a lot.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 AM.