Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Exchange returns a max of 400 results. (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=154249)

Archived Post 04-29-2010 10:33 PM

Exchange returns a max of 400 results.
 
First, the exchange update is great. Not only can you sort by name and price but it is also faster. This is great.

However, it looks like all good things have to come at a price. When doing a search on the exchange the max number of results it will return is 400. This would be fine for most cases, however some full name searches also match partial names of other items.

For example:
Search: Deflector Array Mk VI
Sort by Price
Commander
Common
Ship Deflector

This search would ideally return only items which are named "Deflector Array Mk VI". In reality, however, it returns items named "Positron Deflector Array Mk VI", "Tachyon Deflector Array Mk VI", "Graviton Deflector Array Mk VI", and "Deflector Array Mk VI".

This proublem is compounded by the fact that "Deflector Array Mk VI" is a crafting base item, therefore it is more expensive then the 400 results that are returned.

Two ways to fix this proublem would be:
A) Return all results. This would likely make the system slower.

-or-

B) Give the option to search only for an exact string. This would let people search for only "Deflector Array Mk VI" as well as doing a general search all deflectors in a given level if they are not sure exactly what type of deflector they want.



Like I said, I love the new exchange interface. This is, however, a severe limitation to the new interface.

Archived Post 04-30-2010 01:39 PM

What would happen if you sorted by name? Would each group result be sorted by price?

Archived Post 04-30-2010 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raithnor (Post 2617777)
What would happen if you sorted by name? Would each group result be sorted by price?

This is correct, however the 400 result limit still prevents everything from showing up. When sorting by name "Tachyon Deflector Array Mk VI" does not show up because the other 3 take up the 400 result slots.

Archived Post 04-30-2010 07:57 PM

There are so many ways to tweak the existing exchange view and they've only added a tiny amount. Sort by price, with a range you can enter or any price, sort by stats (+15, +20 etc) and the ability to toggle those between ascending and descending order. Those, for me, would help a lot and it still leaves plenty of room for improvement. The way it was before this recent change was laughable at best and even after these changes it's still very poor.

Archived Post 04-30-2010 09:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dyonas (Post 2619353)
There are so many ways to tweak the existing exchange view and they've only added a tiny amount. Sort by price, with a range you can enter or any price, sort by stats (+15, +20 etc) and the ability to toggle those between ascending and descending order. Those, for me, would help a lot and it still leaves plenty of room for improvement. The way it was before this recent change was laughable at best and even after these changes it's still very poor.

Yes, I agree the 1.1 version is insanely better then the pre-1.1 version. I was mainly posting this bug/limitation so players and Devs were aware of it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 AM.