Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Star Trek Online General Discussion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   Because sector-space doesn't make sense... (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=158245)

Archived Post 05-17-2010 03:21 PM

Because sector-space doesn't make sense...

My major issue with STO since i started playing at pre-launch has been that the game world seems very limited. Basically the galaxy is made out of 20ish square boxes if you are federation and a lot less if you are klingon. This is sector-space, an abstract layer of space (warp?) you use to travel between star systems. It makes the galaxy seem very small when seemingly all star systems are located in these boxes. Another point to note here is that your ship behaves differently in sector-space, if you are a cruiser, can you really
turn faster at warp? Abstract warp? All in all my point is that sector space doesn't make sense.

If the only purpose of sector space is to serve as an abstration for warp travel time and also be a place to form groups i suggest you remove, yes delete sector-space and use the interior of your ship to navigate the galaxy like a real star fleet captain, after all no starfleet ship would go to warp unless the captain sits in his chair and says "Engage!". And unless you want to do STF you probably rely on the auto-team functionality anyways.

So instead of traveling through sector space, when exiting earth orbit you would find yourself sitting in the captains chair. Easily accessible on your right hand is navigation control, this can be done in many ways, interacting with the panel, issuing an order etc, the effect would be that you bring up a star chart where you can plot a course. To travel there you press "engage", your captain would then do a signature move and before you have time to run into your ready room you are at warp.