Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   really confused.... (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=191706)

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:08 AM

really confused....
 
what does this mean


First map transition to a custom map has to specify a door.

Im trying to have the mission take place in vulcan space.

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:10 AM

basically you need to enter somewhere for the mission to start. if you want it to start at the vulcan system for example, then select that as your first door

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:12 AM

how do i select it

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:14 AM

Have not created anything myself, just looking to check out what people are doing but I remember seeing a post from The Grand Nagus about having to go to a specific part of space for "a door to" the mission.

Have a look for his most recent posts.

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:14 AM

heres a breakdown of what i have


Grant mission dialog
followed by
Leaving earth space
followed by
Map start prompt
followed by
Mission


but it wants a door for in between map start prompt and mission but i dont know how to put a door in.

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:21 AM

turns out i just need a doorway to my mission which is vulcan space......now how do i put that in there.

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:22 AM

in the leaving earth space, you can click on "Leave from" option (using the ...) and then select sirius sector block from the menu at the top. then click on the door image on the map where vulcan should be.
i hope this is right.

this should make it that you get the mission, and then, at your leisure, go to vulcan, and you can then start your mission.

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:30 AM

yeah i figured it out....ha now to actually write text and stuff

Archived Post 12-04-2010 06:30 AM

basically you can create a map but the system has no way of knowing where that map is to be located.

imagine your playing a cryptic mission. you would have to go to a system be it vulcan or p'jem or bajor or whatever to enter the first map, so basically you have to tell the foundry where that map is. so you have to at least for the first part change 'whole map' into a system. click on the little box and it will take you into a list. use the drop down box to find sirius sector (or where ever you want) and then pick the system you want the mission to start from.

unless you want your character to start on earth space dock by having him talk to a contact on the station most people will not start there. as they could be anywhere in the galaxy when they choose to take your mission.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.