Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   10 maps are not enuff - (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=195830)

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:11 AM

10 maps are not enuff -
 
I will justify this statement.

When a developer makes a mission they get to use current public areas...we don't

so...
developer mission:

Go to planet A - no map needed
land on planet - 1 map
beam off planet - no map needed
fly to another planet - no map needed
orbit new planet - no map needed
end mission on planet - 1 map

we try the same thing

Go to planet A - 1 map
land on planet - 1 map
beam off planet - 1 map
fly to another planet - can't do it, must simulate ..possible 1 map
orbit new planet -1 map
end mission on planet - 1 map

they made 2 maps, we needed 5-6 maps

Foundry writers write detailed and indepth stories, we need maps to do it.
If we as writers mainly just wanted to have a wham-bam...enemy mob shoot up, fine 10 work but
most of us want to write stories.

I hate making 2 part stories that should be single missions.....20 maps...please.
or let us use public space <unlikely>

Thank you
Meow

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:17 AM

They should just fix it so that you can reuse maps more than once.

And it should store whatever you make - maps, costumes, etc. in a personal library of assets so that you can quickly create copies of things and re-use them across several mission projects instead of having to recreate them every time.

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:27 AM

Incorporating sector space would be great. I really don't understand why we can't just set the map transition like this:

Go from Andoria system to Andoria Ground to Andoria Space

next transition:

Go from P'jem Space to P'jem ground.


Right now we can't do that. If we could it would easily incorporate sector space travel.

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galactrix (Post 3258707)
They should just fix it so that you can reuse maps more than once.

And it should store whatever you make - maps, costumes, etc. in a personal library of assets so that you can quickly create copies of things and re-use them across several mission projects instead of having to recreate them every time.

Agree 100%!!

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:56 AM

I agree with this 1000% - the amount of work we have to do is unecessarily repetitive and should not be not required. Fixing these issues would help streamline our work tremendously.

Archived Post 01-02-2011 06:57 AM

reuse current maps or more maps...or use of public areas

one of the three , please

Archived Post 01-02-2011 07:16 AM

It becomes even worse when you do make a series and you have to redo everything all over again.
Some basic map and character saves would be great, though I guess the memory sinkhole would get pretty big for them.

Archived Post 01-02-2011 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SBCouto (Post 3258759)
It becomes even worse when you do make a series and you have to redo everything all over again.
Some basic map and character saves would be great, though I guess the memory sinkhole would get pretty big for them.

Actually it would be less. If they saved your map once as an asset you could reuse, it takes less space than you having to recreate the map 10 different times and taking 10 times more space, doesn't it?

Archived Post 01-02-2011 07:43 AM

That actually sounds very true!

Archived Post 01-02-2011 09:34 AM

Map reuse should be supported, I agree. However, I think it's a massive change to the way their game-scripting and instancing engine works. :eek:

Luckily, they could resolve our issues by allowing us to create new maps as copies of our old maps, and also increase the map limit and at the same time, support story-arcs more firmly so that players may move from one story-arc to the other without having to search for the next part of an arc! :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.