Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=212)
-   -   "Delete project" button DELETED THE WRONG MISSION!!!! (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=196671)

Archived Post 01-09-2011 12:20 PM

"Delete project" button DELETED THE WRONG MISSION!!!!
 
IF YOU IMPORT AN OLDER MISSION ALWAYS RENAME IT BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING WITH IT!!!!!

Ok, now I'm ****ed on a grand scale. I looked past the 1 CTD out of every 4 preview run, but that is just insane.
I clicked on the importable objects because I wanted to check that option out. It created an other version of the Demon Planet mission, but didn't import anything. No map, no costumes, no story nothing.
I figured that having 2 missions with the same name will be a little confusing, I decided to delete the duplicate project. Since it has the same name as the live mission, I made extra sure that I select the correct project for deletion.
I hit delete and guess what happened?

THE D**N THING DELETED THE LIVE PROJECT AND KEPT THE COMPLETELY BLANK DUPLICATE!!!!

I quickly went to my bank account and tested if selecting Cryptic billing and clicking the Block button would block the transaction of an other destination. But nope, it blocked exactly the one I selected.
Luckily, I have a way to unblock the destination. I sure hope that there is also a way to recover the mission ID: ST-TIYJOFZRI to account name Pendra80.
I made a ticket too, #1028776.

Hopefully, you just flagged it as Deleted in the DB and flipping the flag will bring it back. If not, then you may get it from the last backup.
Alternatively, you can check the import ST-TDCQX55P3 and see why the import failed to carry the stuff over. And while there, you may want to fix that, too.

And the reason I'm THAT upset is that I put like 50 hours in this crap mainly to demonstrate how to build high quality
- properly scaled, enterable buildings without loadscreens
- properly scaled, completely custom caves without loadscreens
- add multiple info text to the same NPC

My next mission is about doing it with a ship, ie fully custom ship interiors. But now, I'm reluctant to do so. Spend 40 hours again to be lost that easily, I don't think so.

Yes, the current foundry can do all that and no it is not easy but can be done.

Archived Post 01-09-2011 12:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pendra37 (Post 3273010)
Ok, now I'm ****ed on a grand scale. I looked past the 1 CTD out of every 4 preview run, but that is just insane.
I clicked on the importable objects because I wanted to check that option out. It created an other version of the Demon Planet mission, but didn't import anything. No map, no costumes, no story nothing.
I figured that having 2 missions with the same name will be a little confusing, I decided to delete the duplicate project. Since it has the same name as the live mission, I made extra sure that I select the correct project for deletion.
I hit delete and guess what happened?

THE D**N THING DELETED THE LIVE PROJECT AND KEPT THE COMPLETELY BLANK DUPLICATE!!!!

I quickly went to my bank account and tested if selecting Cryptic billing and clicking the Block button would block the transaction of an other destination. But nope, it blocked exactly the one I selected.
Luckily, I have a way to unblock the destination. I sure hope that there is also a way to recover the mission ID: ST-TIYJOFZRI to account name Pendra80.

And no redoing it is not an option until you add an option to use absolute height instead of relative only.

I can't remember if that happened to me before. I tried importing one of my projects to see if it would duplicate but I don't think I wanted it afterwards and tried to delete it.

I think I made sure I renamed it so that I could definitely see which one the duplicate was.

Archived Post 01-09-2011 12:59 PM

I tested it again and it is definitely messed up.
- I published a Delete test mission.
- Logged out and in and imported the Delete test
- Logged out and in and selected the newly imported Delete test
- Hit the delete project and it deleted the originally published Delete test, not the unpublished duplicate.

Only this time, the importing more or less worked.

- Then I published the imported deletetest mission with the mission text "aaa"
- Logged out and in and Imported the deletetest
- Logged out and in, loaded up the newly imported deletetest mission, changed the mission text to "bbb" and published it.
- Logged out and in and Imported the deletetest again (don't know which one, the aaa or the bbb)
- Logged out and in. At the point I had 3 deletetest mission. One with "aaa", one with "bbb" and one unpublished.
- Selected the unpublished and hit Delete. It deleted the one marked with "aaa" (the oldest deletetest mission).
- I selected the unpublished again and hit delete again. It deleted the one marked with "bbb" (the 2nd oldest deletetest mission).
- Selected the unpublised deletetest again and hit delete again. It managed to delete it.

From this I think that you somehow use the mission name, instead of the mission ID. That is BAAAAD, use the frikin ID or Primary Key if you have one for crying out loud!

Archived Post 01-09-2011 04:21 PM

Wow, I'm sorry for you losing all your work there. This sounds like a really bad bug, and I will make sure to find out what is happening.

By the way, thank you very much for your detailed steps, it will make it a lot easier to fix the underlying problem.

Archived Post 01-09-2011 05:53 PM

The import may have failed because I pushed a few things to the limit. Like NPC default text length, number of map objects, placed in odd configurations (below the ground, heavily clipping, or into exactly the same spot as other objects).
If you could get the ground map back (Castor II) that would be satisfactory. The text and the story is secondary, I can redo that in a few hours, but the ground map took extremely long to make. I have no desire to make that again until I can't set absolute height (Y) coordinate of objects.

Archived Post 01-09-2011 06:40 PM

On the plus side, this is the exact sort of thing a beta is for, and you giving the steps to reproduce it is going to be a great help for the STO team. At least this didn't happen on the live servers!

Archived Post 01-10-2011 04:46 AM

It's probably best not to put so much time/get too attatched to Tribble Foundry missions since they'll all be wiped anyway. I anticipate a forum-full of threads asking for missions to be made transferrable to Holodeck when the Foundry is finally released.

Archived Post 01-10-2011 08:20 AM

It is starting already:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=196741

Boy, am I stupid or what. I can configure YHTK to extract all the data from the fields and save them to a csv file. And later on import them back to Foundry.

This would theoretically allow me to use 3D Studio as a map editor.
- that enables me to create prefabs of objects, npc placements etc more easily.
- Manipulate them (ei rotate) easily then export it back to the Foundry.
- Clone costumes.
- The importing feature would allow me to even create a limited resolution height map of some simple ground maps, too. This means the importer could adjust the Y value for height so the same prefab could be deployed to whatever terrain with minimal need of further adjustments.

Nevertheless, I would really like to get my mission back :).

Archived Post 01-10-2011 10:27 AM

Pendra, are you saying that your imported project had the same exact name as the existing project?

Archived Post 01-10-2011 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Pendra, are you saying that your imported project had the same exact name as the existing project?

I believe he's saying he figured out how to export and edit Foundry projects as a config file through datamining.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.