Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=212)
-   -   [BUG] NPC Wandering NOT functional on DS9 map (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=199427)

Archived Post 01-31-2011 10:18 AM

[BUG] NPC Wandering NOT functional on DS9 map
 
On the DS9 station map in my mission "No Peace More Action", I have set wander distance, duration, speed, nodes, and weight to the maximum for several groups of Federation NPCs. They aren't moving.

My suspicion is that this implementation of the DS9 map lacks pathing nodes for NPCs to use, which results in them standing around.

Note that I am aware that wander AI doesn't work on preview missions and this problem is present in the published version on Tribble.

It may be an issue with the NPCs themselves or my understanding of pathing. However, with all of the relevant variables turned all the way up, I'd expect them to be racing around like bumper cars.

The only other possibility I can think of is that I use invisible walls to fence the player into the relevant portion of DS9 and that, somehow, this is severing connections between pathing nodes, if that makes sense. (My goal is to have some NPCs milling inside the invisible walls and some milling outside, to simulate more life and activity on the map.

Archived Post 01-31-2011 10:34 AM

I think this was fixed in the last patch. I created a test mission on various maps to see if wander does work and it does. It could be a DS9 bug though as I haven't tested this one yet. What settings are you using? All I used was speed 10, distance 20, weight 2 (give them an idol animation to do, leaving all idol settings on minimum), and time 15. Also are you re-publishing a mission i.e overwriting a previously published mission. If so try withdrawing then re-publishing.

Archived Post 01-31-2011 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chaddy18 (Post 3318273)
I think this was fixed in the last patch. I created a test mission on various maps to see if wander does work and it does. It could be a DS9 bug though as I haven't tested this one yet. What settings are you using? All I used was speed 10, distance 20, weight 2 (give them an idol animation to do, leaving all idol settings on minimum), and time 15. Also are you re-publishing a mission i.e overwriting a previously published mission. If so try withdrawing then re-publishing.

Nodes, weight, distance, speed, and duration for wander are all set to the max.

Like I say, I think it's either DS9 specific or boxing an area completely off in invisible walls is somehow severing connections between nodes.

Archived Post 01-31-2011 10:53 AM

"Nodes, weight, distance, speed, and duration for wander are all set to the max"

I think this maybe your problem try lower settings, and withdraw before republishing

Archived Post 01-31-2011 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chaddy18 (Post 3318313)
"Nodes, weight, distance, speed, and duration for wander are all set to the max"

I think this maybe your problem try lower settings, and withdraw before republishing

Withdraw? I'll have to look into that later. I wasn't aware of that option.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.