Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   Interacting with Consoles (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=208577)

Archived Post 03-25-2011 01:47 PM

Interacting with Consoles
 
Id like the player char interact with a computer console. When the player uses the console, a dialog should start, like the "Enemy mine" - Mission, where a player needs to use a console to decrypt a message. Is that possible in foundry yet?

Archived Post 03-25-2011 03:00 PM

Nope
 
I wish it was but it is't yet :D

Archived Post 03-25-2011 03:37 PM

Yes it can...
 
In the map you wish this to happen, you will need the following objects...

1. A console.
2. An invisible object (10ft)
3. A Place Marker
4. A Dialog Marker



First

Place the console, visible immediately, never hidden


Second

Place a place marker on top of the console.


Third

Place the invisible object on top of the console, immediately hidden, visible on component reached of the place marker. On the invisible object, in the trigger menu, edit the 'Interact' button to what you want it to say, like 'Access Console' or whatever, but the trigger menu won't show up until you do the fourth...


Fourth

Place the dialog marker and make it visible on component complete of the invisible object.


now you have a console when approached will trigger the invisible object to interact with, once the interaction with the console is done the dialog will pop up.

this is just one way to do it too...

hope this helps your mission :D

Archived Post 03-25-2011 03:40 PM

Sounds very good. Ill try that - thank you.

Archived Post 03-25-2011 03:51 PM

You could also skip the invisible object and use the console itself as a trigger. However, this will mean that the console will flash.

the question is, is flashing items good or bad? Most of the time, I use an invisible object like Elkysium explained. Sometimes, however, I want the player to see immediately what he can interact with.

Also, you can use several invisible objects that have different triggers but actually only one flashing console (except if you remove and replace the console all the time).

Archived Post 03-25-2011 03:59 PM

Build in
 
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??

Archived Post 03-25-2011 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cooter1978
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??

Should work just fine that way :D

Though you may have to adjust the radius so the player can hit it.

Archived Post 03-26-2011 01:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cooter1978
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??


Well, you cannot select a map console as an interactive object, so no flashing there. But the thing with the invisible object always for - for everything. That's why there are invisible objects, I guess.

Archived Post 03-26-2011 06:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Elkysium (Post 3453820)
In the map you wish this to happen, you will need the following objects...

1. A console.
2. An invisible object (10ft)
3. A Place Marker
4. A Dialog Marker



First

Place the console, visible immediately, never hidden


Second

Place a place marker on top of the console.


Third

Place the invisible object on top of the console, immediately hidden, visible on component reached of the place marker. On the invisible object, in the trigger menu, edit the 'Interact' button to what you want it to say, like 'Access Console' or whatever, but the trigger menu won't show up until you do the fourth...


Fourth

Place the dialog marker and make it visible on component complete of the invisible object.


now you have a console when approached will trigger the invisible object to interact with, once the interaction with the console is done the dialog will pop up.

this is just one way to do it too...

hope this helps your mission :D

Works perfect, but only one time. What do Ihave to add, when I want to "use" the console again and again?
Is it able to create a task with this system, that is completed, when the player uses a special dialog path?

Archived Post 03-26-2011 07:04 AM

As I said, just place several invisible objects on top og each other (or, actually, whithin each other) and let the second (third,...) invisible object become "visible" (so to speak) when the previous invisible object had been triggered.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.