Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Launcher not working - error 36 (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=213122)

Archived Post 04-28-2011 07:36 AM

Launcher not working - error 36
 
Heya

I tried to get on STO today (after I was on this morning) and lo and behold I get an error message from my launcher that says:

error 36 - a file was locked that could not be opened for writting, restart in 10 (then it countsdown)

soooo, I think it might be because of my new antivirus program; kaspersky, but then it could be because of the patch... I am not sure

Help!

Thanks

Archived Post 04-28-2011 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Folca (Post 3513507)
Heya

I tried to get on STO today (after I was on this morning) and lo and behold I get an error message from my launcher that says:

error 36 - a file was locked that could not be opened for writting, restart in 10 (then it countsdown)

soooo, I think it might be because of my new antivirus program; kaspersky, but then it could be because of the patch... I am not sure

Help!

Thanks

!) If you're running on Windows 7 - make sure you select 'Run as Administrator' (or better yet, cinfigure the shortcut to always 'Run as Administrator')

2) make sure that, whenever there is a new patch, you go back into you anti-virus software and re-enable it to allow the STO startup EXE, as, anytime a file is updated, it's signature changes and you AV or Firewall software won't recognize any exceptions you had set for it befpre.

If neither of the above help, your install might be corrupted somehow.

Archived Post 04-28-2011 02:31 PM

also if you can exclude the game directory from scanning by your antivirus. some program will lock files when scanning and interfer with the game access to the files.

tyulias 05-21-2013 08:34 PM

error 36
 
i tried changing firewall seeting and starting the program as an admin but it did not solve the issue

plumeyer1 05-23-2013 05:49 PM

I've got the same issue. I thought it was the issue everyone was talking about but no one mentioned Error 36 so I did a Google search and found this thread. I'm uninstalling my firewall (I'll get a generic MS one) and see if that works. Thanks!:)

newbie32 05-23-2013 06:32 PM

Try the fix I posted here:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=693081

It's specific to the "Error 36" message

sinusunis 08-21-2013 03:00 AM

fixed
 
Hey, i had the same issues with Error 36 and i tried everything included graphics drivers, administrator rights, integrated/external graphic card, reinstall steam and sto, downloading arc...bla bla.

The launcher's access for doing an update is blocked.

For me it was a firewall problem. It blocked the access to the launcher file. Im using a laptop and there is no problem with integrated intel (4000) or external nvidia card (GT 650M).

I solved it after weeks when i changed my firewall from "game mode" into normal mode. Comodo asked me immediately about the access restrictions of the launcher. You could check in your firewall settings if the launcher and the game client are included. Try to exclude them from protection maybe...


Worked for me

Greets

sboslayer 09-20-2013 05:09 PM

The "new" arc is causing this issue. Run it through that = automatic fix. I reckon this is cryptic/PWE way of saying use arc only :/

arbyfig 11-21-2013 04:03 AM

Still not working...
 
I have just recieved this error, I tried resetting my computer and uninstalling STO and even with arc, it doesn't work. What should I do to fix it?

chazrail 12-21-2013 10:42 AM

yeah im on the dell venue pro 8 but my game was working fine until the error 36 came up what do i do.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.