Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Federation Shipyards (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=218)
-   -   Need some advice - Which is better? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=223997)

Archived Post 07-13-2011 05:55 PM

Need some advice - Which is better?

Hey, all,

I was just wondering...which is better, to specialize in one particular weapon type (for beam and torpedoes) or to outfit with multiple types to cover more bases?

The reason I ask is that I have a fleet member telling me it's better to specialize in one particular weapon type of choice, but I seem to have done okay mounting weapons of varied types.

So I just want to know...am I doing it wrong?

For info sake, I'm an Engineer running the Galaxy retrofit; mounting phaser, polaron and disruptor beams and chrono & transphasic torpedoes.

Archived Post 07-13-2011 06:09 PM

It's cheaper skill point wise to specialize in one weapon set in either beams/cannons or torpedoes. Maxing out on only one weapon type allows you to improve your overall build in other areas. I've tried most of the different weapons, but really always tend to go back to phasers for beams/cannons since they are the cheapest to max out with skill points and I honestly seem to do better damage and defeat enemies faster.

For torps I'd stick with either photons or quantums. A bit cheaper on the skill points than the other torpedo sets. Nothing else really seems to hit that hard and the effects of the chroniton and transphasic have been hardly noticable to me. The tricobalt and plasma can be nice if you can get the high yield to land with the sheilds down, but they are painfully slow and easy to be shot down.