Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Academy (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Auto-fire!! (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=229438)

Archived Post 08-24-2011 04:43 PM

Auto-fire!!
 
Umm... Auto-fire in space works well. But, when in RPG mode (why would you do it in shooter mode?) auto-fire is weird. I have trouble starting it up. I'll click on the bad guy, and press 1 or 2, and nothing happens. It appears that you have to be hit first before you can do that... Does anyone know any way to do auto-fire in RPG mode where you don't have to be hit first? Am I doing it wrong?

Archived Post 08-24-2011 05:15 PM

I have been having all sorts of auto-fire problems since shooter mode came out...

Archived Post 08-25-2011 02:56 PM

In your options there are some setting I believe under the “hud’ tab ( don’t quote me on that ) I find one of the 3 options does not work as advertized and causes this behavior. I cannot remember the exact name of it but its not Auto Attack – Never cancels or Auto Attack-Change opponents cancels , it’s the third one which causes the problem, something like Auto Attack – Non Combat Cancels. Change that to one of the other ones or none.

Archived Post 08-25-2011 04:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John_Hardy (Post 3717416)
I have been having all sorts of auto-fire problems since shooter mode came out...

Same here.

Archived Post 08-25-2011 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brakner (Post 3719055)
In your options there are some setting I believe under the “hud’ tab ( don’t quote me on that ) I find one of the 3 options does not work as advertized and causes this behavior. I cannot remember the exact name of it but its not Auto Attack – Never cancels or Auto Attack-Change opponents cancels , it’s the third one which causes the problem, something like Auto Attack – Non Combat Cancels. Change that to one of the other ones or none.

That's been bugged for years... Which is a shame as its the most useful. These days I just leave it on auto-fire (always on) then if I need to turn it off I do so by deselecting the Autofire option on the tray.

Archived Post 08-25-2011 11:55 PM

maintain
 
Everyone has been having problems with autofire [ ground ] since the dev team intentionaly removed the option of " Maintain " from the auto attack selection list on the ground control option page . The reason give in for this was " issues " . Autofire for ground is presently .. misbehaving . If your auto attack setting is " Toggle ; Never Cancels " the autofire function will work , Only if you Manualy select a target . I belive the problem lay in that the auto target part of the auto attack function does not recognise that there is a valid target present to shoot at.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.