Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Star Trek Online General Discussion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   DX11 option not showing (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=247090)

Archived Post 01-06-2012 07:50 AM

DX11 option not showing
 
So, I have a NVIDIA GFORCE 9500GT card with the latest drivers installed, which i know has DX10 support so surely I should be getting the DX11 option, even if it is just supporting DX10 features, right?

When DX11 was supposedly on Tribble (both times, Season 3 and 4 testing I believe) I had the DX11 option available to me then, and honestly the game seamed to run alot smoother too. Prob placebo effect.

In my Gameprefs file in the localdata folder it has : PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isDx11Enabled 1
still no DX11 option in-game.

Am i missing something? Do other peple with DX10 only cards get the DX11 option?

Archived Post 01-06-2012 07:54 AM

DX11 beta is being enabled in today's patch.

Edit: Release notes for today's patch: http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...06#post3934306

Archived Post 01-06-2012 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craigsta
So, I have a NVIDIA GFORCE 9500GT card with the latest drivers installed, which i know has DX10 support so surely I should be getting the DX11 option, even if it is just supporting DX10 features, right?

When DX11 was supposedly on Tribble (both times, Season 3 and 4 testing I believe) I had the DX11 option available to me then, and honestly the game seamed to run alot smoother too. Prob placebo effect.

In my Gameprefs file in the localdata folder it has : PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isDx11Enabled 1
still no DX11 option in-game.

Am i missing something? Do other peple with DX10 only cards get the DX11 option?

The option to turn on DirectX11 and be found under options/ video/ Troubleshooting.

You need to select your video card and then click the direct X 11 option.

I'm going off memory here so please bear with me.

Archived Post 01-06-2012 07:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0Gambit0 (Post 3935116)
The option to turn on DirectX11 and be found under options/ video/ Troubleshooting.

You need to select your video card and then click the direct X 11 option.

I'm going off memory here so please bear with me.

that is correct

Archived Post 01-06-2012 08:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0Gambit0 (Post 3935116)
The option to turn on DirectX11 and be found under options/ video/ Troubleshooting.

You need to select your video card and then click the direct X 11 option.

I'm going off memory here so please bear with me.


Thanks, I know where the option should be; like i said, the option was available in Tribble testing a few months back which is why i am confused that I dont have the option now.

And Cosmic, the way I read the patch notes is that it is just a fix for a graphical problem, not to actually activate DX11, that was done on a prev patch.

Thanx.

Archived Post 01-06-2012 08:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craigsta
And Cosmic, the way I read the patch notes is that it is just a fix for a graphical problem, not to actually activate DX11, that was done on a prev patch.

When I read the Patch Notes I thought the DX11 beta enabled was it's own line item rather then the end of the sentence. My bad.

Archived Post 01-06-2012 08:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craigsta
So, I have a NVIDIA GFORCE 9500GT card with the latest drivers installed, which i know has DX10 support so surely I should be getting the DX11 option, even if it is just supporting DX10 features, right?

When DX11 was supposedly on Tribble (both times, Season 3 and 4 testing I believe) I had the DX11 option available to me then, and honestly the game seamed to run alot smoother too. Prob placebo effect.

In my Gameprefs file in the localdata folder it has : PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isDx11Enabled 1
still no DX11 option in-game.

Am i missing something? Do other peple with DX10 only cards get the DX11 option?

If you plan on going dx11, get a better graphics card. You wont see any diference other than the game slowing down to a picture slide sadly :(

Archived Post 01-06-2012 08:45 AM

I wonder if it will work on my ATi Radeon HD4850?

Archived Post 01-06-2012 08:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeoHunterSG (Post 3935262)
I wonder if it will work on my ATi Radeon HD4850?

If you are talking about the desktop graphics card, you will be fine :D

Archived Post 01-12-2012 06:48 AM

NVIDIA GFORCE 9500GT aint a dx 11 card.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.