Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   New website broken on Chrome browser (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=248009)

Archived Post 01-12-2012 04:06 PM

New website broken on Chrome browser
 
So I checked the new STO website on Internet Explorer (the derp common denominator) and it looks fine... But in Chrome, we get this.

...Anyone else noticed problems?

Archived Post 01-12-2012 04:07 PM

Simple fix hit refresh. ;)

If that fails do a forced refresh Ctrl + F5 which i think works in chrome as it does in I.E and FF.

Problem is that your browser still has the old files from the old site stored in the cache you see. Refreshing fixes it.

Archived Post 01-12-2012 04:09 PM

CTRL + F5 for the win.. i cant believe how many threads there are on this...

Get some skills people!

Archived Post 01-12-2012 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Techno-P (Post 3945682)
CTRL + F5 for the win.. i cant believe how many threads there are on this...

Get some skills people!

Control + F5 forces a web browser to do a cache refresh which I guess allow our browser to correctly download and display the new web page. It seems to have worked for me.

Archived Post 01-12-2012 04:46 PM

Chrome is for 7 year olds and Grandparents anyway.

:P

Archived Post 01-12-2012 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Techno-P (Post 3945682)
CTRL + F5 for the win.. i cant believe how many threads there are on this...

Get some skills people!

That is a completely unreasonable statement. When you go to a website, you do not think, "hmm, this site appears broken...perhaps I should refresh it." If anything, the number of threads should make it just how clearly stupid (sorry, can't think of a better word) it was for Cryptic to release a new website with the same names as cached components. It is a rookie mistake!

Archived Post 01-12-2012 05:43 PM

I did hit Control-F5. Come on people, I'm not an idiot. It's still exactly the same as it is in that screenshot.

Archived Post 01-12-2012 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Koppenflak
I did hit Control-F5. Come on people, I'm not an idiot. It's still exactly the same as it is in that screenshot.

Try SHIFT+REFRESH (hold down the SHIFT key and press the refresh button). If that doesn't work, then you need to purge your cache. What browser are you using? Chrome? I'm not sure if you're the OP or not.

EDIT:

Nevermind. Anyway, if that doesn't work, go to:

chrome://settings/advanced

And click on "Clear Browsing Data."

If the link above doesn't work or the forum mangles it or whatever, click on the Tools button and go to Options and then "Under the Hood" to get to the button that says "Clear Browsing Data."

Archived Post 01-12-2012 06:48 PM

Anytime that you have a website showing up with corrupted or misplaced images and text, emptying your cookies and cache, then restarting the browser usually helps.

CTRL+F5 works on most browsers but not all, and sometimes won't work fully on some Flash/HTML5/PHP/CSS heavy web pages.

When new pages are released, sometimes your antivirus will decide to block part or all of a page too. Be sure to add the domains to your antivirus exception list for the web sites that you use that you know are ok.

Also, if you are using an ad blocking program or plugin, you may have to disable those and refresh the pages that are giving you problems.

Archived Post 01-12-2012 07:16 PM

I had the same thing happen in firefox and chrome seems like if you have been to the site before you get the glitch. the ctrl f5 worked... but not nice for returning players... just sayin


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 PM.