Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Is STO playable with an Intel HD 3000 (IGP)? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=251001)

Archived Post 01-29-2012 03:38 PM

Is STO playable with an Intel HD 3000 (IGP)?
 
Hi,

is it possible to play STO on a system with an Intel Core i3 2125 (IGP = Intel Graphics HD 3000) and without an extra graphic card on a resolution of 1920*1080?

Archived Post 01-29-2012 09:34 PM

I reccommed heading to Can You Run It and seein if you pass mininmum specs, without knowing your full system specs and assuming your on a laptop you might just scrape minimum.

Archived Post 01-30-2012 12:21 PM

^ Agree.

You can try to install the game if you have the bandwidth and patience, but please keep in mind that integrated Intel GPUs are not designed to handle 3d games very well past a certain point. Especially when it is built into the CPU. (personal opinions)

The system requirements on the download page are a good guide for comparing what you should have for hardware.

Archived Post 01-30-2012 01:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xth3xr34p3rx (Post 3978414)
I reccommed heading to Can You Run It and seein if you pass mininmum specs, without knowing your full system specs and assuming your on a laptop you might just scrape minimum.

Well, according to" can you run it" I can't run STO.
It's a good thing i didnt run that before I bought the game, since I've been a daily player since season 1.1 :eek:

Archived Post 01-30-2012 02:07 PM

The game is free to play, so it costs you nothing to download it and see ;)

Later, if you wish to upgrade the game from free to play, you can.

Archived Post 01-30-2012 02:50 PM

Yes, it will run on the Intel HD 3000. I'm (temporarily) running the game on the Mobile Intel 4 chipset, which is definitely a class below the HD 3000 (not that that's saying much).

It doesn't look great, but it will definitely go.

Now, will it comfortably push 1920x1080? Can't help you there, but my Core2Duo laptop runs at 1280x800 with no lag (again, though, with the quality options set fairly low).

It's free, so just try it and see if it's acceptable to you.

Archived Post 01-30-2012 03:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by darthpanda16 (Post 3979818)
The game is free to play, so it costs you nothing to download it and see ;)

Unless of course your in many of the regions that throttle/charge for bandwidth so downloading the entire client + patch sizes kinda doesn't 'cost you anything to download', lol. On the brightside you could go to the local Starbucks and try it :)

Archived Post 01-30-2012 04:26 PM

Very true. Bandwidth caps are not cool :(

Archived Post 02-07-2012 04:26 PM

Here's a fun tidbit of information:

Quote: "Now, you can enjoy immersive2 gaming on titles that are optimized for Intel® HD Graphics, such as Star Trek Online*."

This was taken from the official Intel® HD Graphics site: HERE

Who knew!?

Archived Post 02-07-2012 04:36 PM

I've run this on a Intel 900 series integrated chip on my laptop (lowest settings)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.