Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Academy (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Purpose of launching a shuttle? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=251476)

Archived Post 02-01-2012 09:03 AM

Purpose of launching a shuttle?

This may be a stupid noob question, but I could not find the answer anywhere so here it goes:

I am new to the game and bought the TOS series pack. I got a TOS shuttle. I flew it once and it seems decently armed for a ship of this size and was kind of fun. I think it will be a hoot to play around with.

When I am in my main starship (TOS Constitution Class) there is an option to launch a shuttle. However, it says the shuttle is "unarmed" and disappears when battle starts. Obviously this is not the same shuttle I can pilot. So my question is...What is the purpose of launching a shuttle from your starship? It would not be any good in a battle. Is there something else it can do for me? Can it scan more stuff in the area when doing searches? Some other function?

What about the shuttle I CAN fly? Is there any real purpose for that in the game or is it just a fun toy?

Thanks in advance.

Archived Post 02-01-2012 09:38 AM

The shuttle pet that you can launch is just that, a pet. It follows you around, looks pretty, and that's about it.

The shuttle you can pilot is for fun, but there is also one mission (The Vault) which requires you to use a shuttle for it. There are also plans for additional shuttle missions in the future.

Archived Post 02-01-2012 10:17 AM

Oh! I did not know there were "pets" in the game.

Does that mean I can have a tribble follow me around too?

Thanks for the info!

Archived Post 02-01-2012 11:34 AM

No tribbles aren't pets. Any pet you can have can be found in the c-store. Except the horta, which you can get from this mission Mine Enemy.

Archived Post 02-01-2012 12:20 PM