Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   New Laptop (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=252804)

Archived Post 02-06-2012 12:21 PM

New Laptop
 
Hi Star Trek People,

I am about to buy a new laptop to play Star Trek online. Obviously in this dreadful recession times I can't splurge too much. However, could you advise if the specs. listed below will play Star Trekl online well?? See specs below for laptop

Processor

Intel Core i7-2760QM Processor

Cache : 6 MB
Clockspeed : 2.4Ghz
Manufacturer : Intel
Memory

2 X 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz Memory

Speed : 1333Mhz
Harddrive

Seagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid SSD SATA Hard Drive

Interface :SATA

Technology :

Solid State Hybrid
Optical Drives
Description : SATA DVD Writer

Graphics : NVIDIA GT 555M 2GB DDR3 Graphics

Chipset : 144 Shaders
CPU Clock 590Mhz
Memory Clock 900Mhz
Shader Clock 1180Mhz
Bus Width 128Bit
Bandwidth 28.8GB/s
Texture Fill Rate 14.2GT/s

Chassis

Description : 1366 x 768 Resolution

Bluetooth : Yes

Dimensions : 383 x 262 x 36.6

Graphics : NVIDIA GT555 Mobile Graphics

Battery : 8 Cell 5200mAh Battery

Memory Capacity : 8GB

Memory Slots : 2

LAN : On board 10/100/1000 Mbps Fast Ethernet controller

USB : 2 x USB 3.0 Ports
2 x USB 2.0 Ports

Webcam :

1.3 Mega Pixel

Weight :

2.8KG

Screen :

15.6" (16:9) HD LED Backlight

Fingerprint Scanner :

Yes

Card Reader :

MMC, SD/SDHC/SDXC, MS/MS Pro/MS Pro HG, Memory Card

Wireless :

802.11 1x1 b/g/n

WHAT DO YOU THINK ?

Archived Post 02-06-2012 12:25 PM

That layout looks pretty damn good to me, i also use a laptop with similar specs and dont get any problems whatsoever, i also run it from a wireless connection, so all in all it would be quite worthy to run sto without any hassles :cool:

Archived Post 02-06-2012 12:33 PM

Thanks
 
Well Time Lords - looks like you have made my mind up. Anyone else, before I jump in there !?

Archived Post 02-06-2012 05:55 PM

I kind of tribbled all over my keyboard here in the PWE office. My workstation is no where NEAr those specs.

In theory, looks great!

Archived Post 02-06-2012 09:01 PM

Where are you buying it and how much is it? I want one.

Archived Post 02-06-2012 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pr1983 (Post 3998580)
Where are you buying it and how much is it? I want one.

My first thought was an Alienware, but I believe this is the Novatech nSpire 2760. The only recommendation I would make would be to use an external monitor. Unless you travel a lot. Which I hope you do as you could buy a descent destkop for the same price.

Archived Post 02-06-2012 11:06 PM

I actually may have to, as i'm currently in the process of emmigrating to another country. or immigrating,m depending on your pov.

but yes, i would go desktop if i could.

Archived Post 02-07-2012 07:29 AM

Bah, SSD/HDD hybrids are crap.
Tried to look up your 512gb version but found only the 700gb and even that has only a 32gb SSD used as cache.

Avoid.

Insist on a proper SSD, 128GBs are the sweet spot. Smaller ones have much lower write performance.
For the usual media files you can later get an USB external hardrive .
For that amount of doe you really donīt need to gimp the system.

Donīt believe the hybrid marketing garbage, heck donīt even believe me! Just google some tests.

Archived Post 02-07-2012 07:57 AM

You comp will run STO just fine.. I've had a Hybrid drive for over a year, never had a huge issue. Long as the firmware is updated, you're good to go.

Archived Post 02-08-2012 09:23 AM

The only issue with hybrids is that they are barely better than normal drives but at a premium cost.

Anybody who hasnīt seen a good SSD in action just canīt participate in the discussion, sorry.
Yes, itīs THAT much of a boon to have a proper SSD as your system drive and have your main game reside there too.

It is a bit tricky to get a WinXP (& to some extent Vista) system running properly on it, but itīs doable with following the right instructions.
Win7 manages it out of the box.
Buying a new system without one is downright self-flagellation.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.