Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Horrible buzzing sound at Bajor (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=255782)

Archived Post 02-18-2012 10:48 AM

Horrible buzzing sound at Bajor
 
The DS9 buzzing problem has come back with a vengeance in Bajor.

All was fine until walked around the tree in front of Achebe's building, then the buzzing started and just won't stop, changing maps won't stop it, even loging out won't stop it, the buzzing persists in the login screen. It's really quite maddening.

Archived Post 02-18-2012 11:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DudeBGuy (Post 4031693)
The DS9 buzzing problem has come back with a vengeance in Bajor.

All was fine until walked around the tree in front of Achebe's building, then the buzzing started and just won't stop, changing maps won't stop it, even loging out won't stop it, the buzzing persists in the login screen. It's really quite maddening.

EXACTLY the same just happened to me. I'm using Logitech G35 Headphones.

Archived Post 02-18-2012 12:35 PM

I'm wondering if the game is still using OpenAL for sound, or if the vivox openAL wrapper library is only used for the voice chat component? The continious sound issues remind me of years of various sound issues in Unreal Engine games that used OpenAL (the culprit more likely being buggy hardware openAL libs like creative labs not OpenAL per se which nowadays they seem to have almost completely buried) :D :confused: :(

Archived Post 02-18-2012 06:38 PM

same
 
The sound bug from DS9 seems fixed, but on Bajor It is even worse. I have had to take off my g930 headphones. the sound is maddening!

Archived Post 02-19-2012 03:49 AM

I have the exact same problem, and i also got a logitech G35!

Archived Post 02-19-2012 04:27 AM

chiming in that my g35 head set started doing the same thing.

im wondering if maybe its just some weird logitech thing?

Archived Post 02-19-2012 06:02 AM

after completing the signal tower mission I heard a wee bit of static when the connection was broken, but figured it was part of the effects. the static faded as i headed back to hand in the quest. just using standard ear buds. never noticed any static on ds9 either.

edit: oops - win 7x64, DX11, Conexant SmartAudio HD (CHDRT64.sys v 8.54 updated 14/2/2011)

Archived Post 02-19-2012 08:56 AM

Same with Logitech G930.

Archived Post 02-19-2012 11:55 AM

Same Problems here, G35 with Win7 64-Bit.

Unplayable with Sound. Only to turn off the whole sound would help. Not only music or something.

Archived Post 02-19-2012 01:29 PM

Had the same issue on DS9 Promenade, now have it on Bajor in some places & on K7 now. Using Realtek HD Audio (built in came with system).


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.