Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Why do I have to manually fire my autofiring turrets? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=258276)

Archived Post 03-01-2012 01:58 PM

Why do I have to manually fire my autofiring turrets?
 
I don't know if it might be lag or some other factor, but many times I find when I have my weapons set to autofire, every now and then they tend to snag up and none of them fire. I'm not changing targets or anything that would cancel AF either.

My escort for example, has 3 borg AP turrets on it's aft weapons. I set all three of them to AF so I can get a steady stream of DPS from them when I begin attacking my target. But sometimes they stop firing, and I have to click on one (or sometimes all three) turrets to tell them to fire again.



Rarely do I ever experience lag spikes in this game. Most of the times when I do, it's on the server's side, and visual latency isn't an issue with my computer's specs. This one is strange though. Heck, sometimes it happens for my KDF cruiser, which pretty much has everything set to autofire.

Archived Post 03-01-2012 04:56 PM

I had this problem too ,what i discovered it was only happening in defense mode. If you look at them they all try and fire at the same time and drain the weapons battery very fast. So switch back into Attack mode ,you will die faster ,but do heaps more DPS.

Archived Post 03-01-2012 06:36 PM

There are attack and defense modes? My escort only knows one method: Attack.

Archived Post 03-01-2012 07:46 PM

How do you switch between attack and defense mode?

Archived Post 03-02-2012 04:51 PM

Try setting autofire mode to Maintain.. the others tend to cancel fire if another key is pressed during firing

Archived Post 03-02-2012 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThePsycoticVulcan
How do you switch between attack and defense mode?

on the UI right above the power bars, there are 4 little buttons with different shapes, these represent the different subsystem power presets, by clicking on one you tell the ship to prioritize that subsystem and take power from the others to boost the one you want. With your build, you should probably put it into the attack preset, which prioritizes weapons

Archived Post 03-06-2012 11:40 AM

He means the power distribution settings. He's saying you won't fire if you're out of juice (say you have it all to shields, etc).

I just right click the weapons slot (not the tray slot) to outline it in green, press "fire all weapons" once and it takes care of it for me. I have to make sure that weapon is outlined in green, though. Otherwise it only fires when I hit the key each time.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 AM.