Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Can't zoom all the way in on my ship in space. (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=259736)

Archived Post 03-09-2012 01:13 AM

Can't zoom all the way in on my ship in space.
 
I noticed after today's patch that I now can't zoom in all the way on my ship in space. I can zoom in kind of close but not all the way. Anybody else have this issue or notice it? It's a small thing, but it is very annoying. I like being a zoom in on my ship close sometimes so this is a little important to me. If it's a bug I need it fixed so I can zoom in close again. Please. Thanks.

Archived Post 03-09-2012 02:11 AM

Same here. Especially annoying since the camera tends to go down upon zooming in really "close". As such, my ship is now at the very center of the screen, instead of just above the UI tray.

Also, I may be wrong, but I think this is mostly noticeable on Odyssey and Bortas. The latter especially.

EDIT:

Correction - this seems to be the issue only with the Odyssey and Bortas. I just checked my other characters, and the zooming seems to be ok there (Advanced Escort, D'Kyr, Defiant). The flagships' camera is "broken" though.

Archived Post 03-09-2012 03:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suavek (Post 4080536)
Same here. Especially annoying since the camera tends to go down upon zooming in really "close". As such, my ship is now at the very center of the screen, instead of just above the UI tray.

Also, I may be wrong, but I think this is mostly noticeable on Odyssey and Bortas. The latter especially.

EDIT:

Correction - this seems to be the issue only with the Odyssey and Bortas. I just checked my other characters, and the zooming seems to be ok there (Advanced Escort, D'Kyr, Defiant). The flagships' camera is "broken" though.

:eek: Good grief. I should check the zoom on the other ships of my characters just to be sure. But man this is so darned annoying. It seems that whenever Cryptic puts something out they break something else.:rolleyes:

Archived Post 03-09-2012 04:28 AM

Checked my other ships. Now the Refit Constitution will full zoom but if you do that it'll look transparent. And the font is all messed up on the UI in the game. Like in the message that pops up asking you if you want to beam to your bridge...not all the font will show up on the head or top part of the message box. :rolleyes: Jeez Cryptic fix you darned game will you. This is getting ridiculous. Bugs after bugs and more unexpected downtime and server crashes. Fix this darned thing will you. :mad:

Archived Post 03-09-2012 01:24 PM

Ive been having the same problem with my Advanced Research Vessel, quite frustrating.

Archived Post 03-09-2012 03:06 PM

The worst part, it was intentional and not A bug apparently :rolleyes:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tumerboy (Post 4081912)
It was put in to address complaints about zooming in so far as to have your camera clip through parts of your ship.

The responsible party is exploring ways to make everyone happy.

Any time we change something, we do not know what players will complain about. This was done, by a dev, to address complaints he has seen. In his eyes (and anyone else involved's eyes), he was fixing a problem. He obviously didn't know (nor did any of us) that there would be a backlash over this. We do our best to guess at what you guys would like/not like, but the dissatisfied parties are always the ones we hear. We heard people dissatisfied with the zoom levels the way they were, so we changed them. No we hear from parties dissatisfied with the change. Neither party is going to comment to the positive when the change goes to their favor. (by and large)


Archived Post 03-09-2012 03:17 PM

Not cool man not cool at all!
 
What the heck Cryptic? You did this on purpose? How dare you. :mad: Could find some way to change this back? I don't appreciate this change at all. Whoever was complaining about the zoom levels has a lot of nerve. The zoom levels were fine the way they were. Change them back. :mad:

Archived Post 03-09-2012 07:00 PM

Same here with my Odyssey, it's the first bug i've experienced since I got the game. To me, the zooming was fine until after Cryptic changed it. I don't understand who would complain about something(In this case the zooming) in the game even though it had nothing wrong with it in the first place. It would be just dandy if Cryptic changed it back.

Archived Post 03-09-2012 08:20 PM

I never heard any complaints about the way it was before, and they never even mentioned that they were going to change it. Now there are complaints about the change they made in multiple forums. I really would like to know who complained about the old way.

I hope they revert it back to the way it was ASAP.

Archived Post 03-09-2012 09:06 PM

I'm not fond of the change either. If people had a problem with zooming in too far, it seems to me those players could either not zoom that far in, or the zoom levels could be set to one's preference with an option. When in doubt and whenever possible, changes like this should be made optional.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.