Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Is antialiasing terrible in this game? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=260552)

Archived Post 03-12-2012 10:59 PM

Is antialiasing terrible in this game?
 
Great screenshot I took, but the lack of antialiasing is very noticeable: http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/4...2031022515.jpg. Another screenshot showing lack of antialiasing: http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8...2030823184.jpg.

I have a GTX 570, I'm using the latest Nvidia beta drivers (for Skyrim purposes), and I've tried various antialiasing settings both ingame and overriding with Nvidia settings. Nothing improves the antialiasing and I don't know why, other than to think it's the game that's the problem, not my GPU or drivers or settings.

I can get Skyrim and Battlefield 3 to look fantastic (sample Skyrim screenshot to see what I mean: http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/1...1121400004.jpg), and in STO I can't even get antialiasing to work :) In fact changing the settings ingame, while leaving it application-controlled in Nvidia settings, doesn't do a thing. There's zero difference between None and 8x.

Archived Post 03-13-2012 12:00 AM

Since you play Skyrim you may be familiar with the FXAA injector. I use this to help with the AA in STO. It has a DX9 and DX11 version included. Just follow the instructions.

http://mrhaandi.blogspot.com/p/injectsmaa.html

Archived Post 03-13-2012 12:27 AM

For AMD/ATi users I suggest setting the in game AA to x2 or x4 and turn on Super Sampling AA on in Catalyst Control Center. Looks great. :)

Archived Post 03-13-2012 11:56 AM

I'm Nvidia though. I've tried 0 to 8x ingame, I've tried enhancing application settings via Nvidia settings, and I've tried overriding application settings (both options using 2x, 4x, 8x, 8x CSAA, 16x CSAA, 16xQ CSAA, and 32x) and there's no difference no matter what I do. I just can't get antialiasing to work in this game, and I'm wondering if it's the textures they use or something else ingame causing it and not my computer or settings.

When I change antialiasing options ingame, the screen doesn't even do anything. There's no flicker, there's no quick screen pause as it applies settings, there's no message about settings taking place when you next start the game, nothing, not to mention no effect on the graphics. It's literally like I'm clicking inactive buttons.

I'm also not a fan of FXAA. I tried it and it does something to the colors and clarity of the graphics I don't like. My computer is powerful enough to run Skyrim on ultra settings with beta ambient occlusion enabled, so I don't really need it. It also runs Battlefield 3 on max settings, even better than Skyrim since Skyrim is definitely not optimized for the PC.

Archived Post 03-13-2012 12:22 PM

This is not the FXAA injector that changes colors, it just adds AA. Its an improved version of the FXAA called SMAA and it can be used with any DX9, DX10, DX11 game. I use it in STO, STALKER Call of Pripyat, Starcraft 2, GTA4, and more.

Cant hurt to try it. Again it doesnt change colors, just adds AA.

Archived Post 03-14-2012 07:44 AM

It fixed all the clipping in the game for me. I think I turned on AA on my card, and then activated it in the game and it worked. I'll check to make sure because I just did it last night.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.