Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Flickering Artifacts (?) (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=263130)

Archived Post 03-26-2012 12:47 PM

Flickering Artifacts (?)
 
hey,

since a few days i got flickering artifacts (dont know what this actually is) all over the screen (even at the char-selection screen)

Pic 1
Pic 2

this error only occurs in STO - all other games are running fine.

any ideas how to solve this problem?

thx
Uni

Edit:
it seems to be a driver related problem - catalyst 12.3 causes this error in skyrim too - reinstalling 12.1 should do it...

Archived Post 03-27-2012 02:23 PM

if you would read other topics in this section before posting you would know this is a known issue you can try
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360362
driver should fix it.

or in sto disable AA or run in dx11 mode, these all fix the problem....again if you would read the other 20topids already posted about this you would know the answer.

Archived Post 03-27-2012 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AshenTech
if you would read other topics in this section before posting you would know this is a known issue you can try
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360362
driver should fix it.

or in sto disable AA or run in dx11 mode, these all fix the problem....again if you would read the other 20topids already posted about this you would know the answer.

maybe - but i can also just ask my question, hu?! especially because disabling AA or running the game in DX11 mode doesnt change anything - but thank you for your "efforts" ...

Archived Post 03-27-2012 05:02 PM

any better solution ideas than useing a beta driver and runing without aa or dx11?

i have the problem too and im not willing to run a beta driver.

running no aa and dx11 does nothing.

help?

edit: oh and.. i cant go back to 12.1! this version does not work for me, i used 11.8 before.

Archived Post 03-28-2012 06:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stuferus
any better solution ideas than useing a beta driver and runing without aa or dx11?

i have the problem too and im not willing to run a beta driver.

running no aa and dx11 does nothing.

help?

edit: oh and.. i cant go back to 12.1! this version does not work for me, i used 11.8 before.

any driver before 12.2 should solve the problem (donīt forget to deinstall the "old" driver first - otherwise it wonīt work) - try 11.8 if STO ran properly :) for me it worked with 12.1

Archived Post 03-29-2012 06:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stuferus
any better solution ideas than useing a beta driver and runing without aa or dx11?

i have the problem too and im not willing to run a beta driver.

running no aa and dx11 does nothing.

help?

edit: oh and.. i cant go back to 12.1! this version does not work for me, i used 11.8 before.

if its an offiical AMD beta its going to be the same quality as the release driver that comes out on the next official release pack, you can check around on that, its quite common for AMD to put out a "hotfix" or "beta" driver early then just put the same driver out at the end of the month to meet release cycle.

the beta part of this driver is the opencl 1.2 support, not the driver itself, unless your using OPENCL 1.2 you wont be using beta portions of the driver(your not, because only developers are using opencl 1.2 at this point)

12.2 dosnt fix this, read the other posts.

dx11 mode works fine....not sure why you wouldnt be willing to use it....

Im guessing dx11 mode didnt work for you because you didnt read the little text that said you have to restart the game for dx11 mode to kick in.....

YOU MUST FULLY CLOSE THE GAME AFTER ENABLEING DX11 MODE AND RESTART THE GAME OR IT WONT WORK

to the OP, if this wont work for you, then your doing something wrong, everybody in every other thread whos followed these directions properly has had good results.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.