Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Graphical and Sound Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Known issues and some workarounds (READ THIS BEFORE POSTING) (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=263739)

Archived Post 03-29-2012 04:40 PM

Known issues and some workarounds (READ THIS BEFORE POSTING)
 
Hey guys. I keep seeing forum threads popping up for the same issues over and over again. To avoid cluttering up this forum with stuff that we, the devs, are already well aware of (and working hard on, I assure you!), I'm going to go ahead and make this post to keep track of known issues and workarounds or fixes.

If you want to post about any of these issues, please try to limit it to one of the (many) existing threads instead of making more new threads.

Some polygons show up black in random places under DirectX 11 mode
THE WORKAROUND: Switch to DirectX 9. You can do this in the video settings if you turn on "Show advanced settings" and then expand the tab at the very bottom for troubleshooting. Select it from the video card menu.

THE FIX: We're still working on that one.

THE UGLY TECHNICAL DETAILS:
Caused by bad model data. We're aware of it, and working on fixing it, but we have to go through and fix up a ton of models.

This only affects people using the DirectX 11 renderer, so if it's driving you totally nuts, you can switch to DirectX 9 mode. We haven't actually started using any fancy DirectX 11 features that don't exist in DirectX 9 yet, so ther only difference is a minor performance one.

It's one of those cases where something was wrong all along, but until we started using DirectX 11, it didn't matter. I guess DX9 was a little less strict with its interpretation of model data.

FORUM THREADS:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=251947
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=250404
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=248928
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=246919
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=247275
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=246941
Stars render in front of planets / planets look semitransparent / flickering nebulas
THE WORKAROUND: None yet.

THE FIX: We're working on it.

THE UGLY TECHNICAL DETAILS:
Some of our sky domes (that is, a big sphere with a stars background texture) are not rendering at the right depth, causing them to show up in front of planets sometimes, or at the same layer as nebulas. We're still fixing up the sky domes. We used to do some trickery to make sure the depth values would always end up squished to the very edge of the range, but that was causing some other issues and due to other developments, it's no longer feasible.

FORUM THREADS:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=263691
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=263295
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=247134
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=249742
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=253160
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=252586
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=249798
Screen renders as a blocky mess using AMD video cards.
THE WORKAROUND: Downgrade your AMD graphics driver to version 12.1.

THE FIX: AMD is working on it.

THE UGLY TECHNICAL DETAILS:
Version 12.2 of the AMD driver has something horribly wrong with it. AMD is (hopefully) working on a fix for this. It's not just affecting our games.

You may have to completely uninstall your AMD driver before installing the 12.1 version. It's been reported that the driver rollback feature didn't work for someone.

FORUM THREADS:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=263130
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=263321
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=259428
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=260437
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=261411
User interface issues
These should probably go in the Gameplay Bugs forum (that's probably where the UI programmers would look first)...
http://forums.startrekonline.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69
Help! My issue isn't in the list
Now you should post a forum thread about it.

And REMEMBER TO POST SCREENSHOTS.

Seriously though, post screenshots. We basically can't do anything without them, regardless of your ability with words and description.

maltinpolar 08-06-2012 12:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Archived Post (Post 4130721)

Some polygons show up black in random places under DirectX 11 mode

THE WORKAROUND: Switch to DirectX 9. You can do this in the video settings if you turn on "Show advanced settings" and then expand the tab at the very bottom for troubleshooting. Select it from the video card menu.

Just FYI: this is still happening, and I'm using DirectX9. So this workaround is not working.

maxvitor 08-14-2012 01:55 PM

Do you have DirectX 9 installed? Or is it still running Direct X 10/11 in Direct X 9 mode?

maltinpolar 08-16-2012 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maxvitor (Post 5282461)
Do you have DirectX 9 installed? Or is it still running Direct X 10/11 in Direct X 9 mode?

Good question. I didn't think of that. I checked via dxdiag and it says I have DX11, even though I've repeatedly downloaded and installed DX9 directly from Microsoft's site. Now, doing some more digging I also found this version. Which one should I use?

I figured I could uninstall DX11 and install DX9, but I'm reading here that there's no way to manually uninstall DX11 from Windows 7 unless you go into the registry, and that deleting it "it is not recommended. Doing so may cause errors or reduced system performance".

What should I do?

beezle23 08-16-2012 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maltinpolar (Post 5319611)
I figured I could uninstall DX11 and install DX9, but I'm reading here that there's no way to manually uninstall DX11 from Windows 7 unless you go into the registry, and that deleting it "it is not recommended. Doing so may cause errors or reduced system performance".

What should I do?

For starters, leave DX11 intact in Windows 7.

What video card do you have?

What drivers are you using with it?

behelus 08-26-2012 01:21 AM

- windows vista, service pack 1
- direct x10.1 + the latest vide card drivers for the geforce 210 (asus 210 en silent).

the only missing polygons i find, are those on hair models. never in any other location.
namely on the "pony tail" and any extrusion or extended hair stye.

all the other in game items remain intact and normall.
hope this tiny bit of information is usefull in any way posible, as detailed descriptions
are redundant in this thread about that isseu.

thaddeusbart 10-15-2012 11:35 PM

Kerrat War Zone Glitch
 
I's having a weird glitch in the Kerrat war zone, The Borg cubes are like glitching and stretching across the whole area of the war zone and i dont know how to fix it can someone help me?

admiralsvak 11-15-2012 12:11 PM

I have an issue, the game keeps crashing on me and everyone else seems to have the same damn problem if you damn cryptic people haven't noticed!

trojanpride69 11-28-2012 05:16 PM

Graphics Crashing Issues
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by admiralsvak (Post 6613521)
I have an issue, the game keeps crashing on me and everyone else seems to have the same damn problem if you damn cryptic people haven't noticed!

I have exactly the same problem. After 1-5 minutes, on any graphics setting, my screen blacks out entirely. Then my graphics card struggles to bring up the image, with some apparent lag in FPS.

Text:
Display driver stopped responding and has recovered
Sub-text:
Display driver Intel Graphics Accelerator Drivers for Windows 7(R) stopped responding and has successfully recovered.

I am currently running a Gateway, NV79C with an Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M380 @2.53GHz, 4 GB RAM (3.68 usable), 64-bit operating system.

I was never able to play on best graphics without some processor lag. However, a step down on the simple menu graphics setting allowed my machine the best performance with graphics. Now, it does not matter what I play, the BSOD (Black Screen of Death) will cause my machine to crash 2-3 times before locking my machine up. The only solution is to do a hard reset.

jcsww 11-28-2012 07:19 PM

In before the lock! :D Clearly, who ever said things were getting worked on was full of it! :cool:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.