Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Duty Officer System and R&D (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=251)
-   -   Bug - Critical Importance - Cannot remove Duty Officers from Active Duty (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=265711)

Archived Post 04-10-2012 04:17 PM

Bug - Cannot remove Duty Officers from Active Duty
 
This is an annoying issue - but I cannot remove my duty officers from active duty. Clicking the "Remove from Active Duty" button does nothing, and double-clicking on the DO has the same result (nothing). This is true for both space and ground. I've tried hitting the button to remove them and logging out, with no success. I've tried selecting different officers - same thing.

I can sorta "replace" one of my DOs, but it will only allow me to change the DO that was last placed on active duty, effectively locking in 4 of my duty officers permanently. Is this a problem for anyone else?

*****
Edit: As per the comments below, I tried the drag-and-drop method. It works! Appropriately, I downgraded the bug from Critical to Really Annoying. Sadly, the two more obvious interactions (clicking the huge glowing button and double-clicking) still will not work. I really suggest Crypic get their UI people to fix this, as I can't be the only one this is happening to and its likely to be very frustrating to users who don't read the forums.

Archived Post 04-10-2012 04:37 PM

Is your roster full? I think Active Duty officers don't count against your limit, so you can't remove them if your roster is full.

Fortunately, you can always use drag and drop to swap an Active Duty officer with a Reserve officer.

Archived Post 04-10-2012 04:48 PM

Active doffs do count against your total - they show with a special icon over them in your list. The remove button seems to assume they don't, though.

Archived Post 04-10-2012 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hevach (Post 4152617)
Active doffs do count against your total - they show with a special icon over them in your list. The remove button seems to assume they don't, though.

They do not count against your total. You'll notice when you assign a DOFF to Space or Ground your total DOFFs goes down.

So when you try to remove a DOFF, if you're at max capacity, you'll be unable to because you have no room. Removing the DOFF would take you over max capacity.

Archived Post 04-10-2012 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squirrelloid (Post 4152884)
They do not count against your total. You'll notice when you assign a DOFF to Space or Ground your total DOFFs goes down.

So when you try to remove a DOFF, if you're at max capacity, you'll be unable to because you have no room. Removing the DOFF would take you over max capacity.

That really doesn't seem very intuitive. If I have space for 100 duty officer (or however many), the logical person would expect that those on active duty are still part of the total listed on the roster. Making them not count (so they're a secret +10 capacity) is just poor design IMO.

Archived Post 04-11-2012 06:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by captainstewart (Post 4153026)
That really doesn't seem very intuitive. If I have space for 100 duty officer (or however many), the logical person would expect that those on active duty are still part of the total listed on the roster. Making them not count (so they're a secret +10 capacity) is just poor design IMO.

Whether or not its intuitive, its true.

Archived Post 04-11-2012 10:22 AM

I see it as nothing more than an inconvenience when moving Doffs around. The solution - never have more than 100 (in total) Doffs, meaning if you have 5 active in ground and 5 active in space, u should have 90 in your roster :)

Archived Post 04-11-2012 10:30 AM

... why?

Its a strictly losing proposition.

Under your proposal, when you have 100 DOFFs you can move them freely

Current, when you have 100 DOFFs, you can move them freely.

The difference is that at present, you can have 110 DOFFs instead.

Your 'solution' is strictly worse than the present situation.

Archived Post 04-11-2012 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squirrelloid (Post 4153867)
Current, when you have 100 DOFFs, you can move them freely.

Not exactly, because if you have 110 doffs and you want to remove 1 from Active, you must swap it with another doff. You can't simply remove it from Active and leave an empty Active slot.

I still agree with you that the current system is better, though.

Archived Post 04-11-2012 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by drishmael
Not exactly, because if you have 110 doffs and you want to remove 1 from Active, you must swap it with another doff. You can't simply remove it from Active and leave an empty Active slot.

I still agree with you that the current system is better, though.

Yes, but if you have 110 DOFFs then you don't have just 100 DOFFs. If you have _100_ (not Roster displays 100, you actually have 100) then you can in fact swap them freely.

Ie, there's absolutely not advantage to counting slotted DOFFs against your limit. Paying a little attention would have shown you that your roster total decreased every time you assigned a DOFF to space or ground duty, so its not like the current set up requires you to audit your DOFF total on your own. Simply add the number of slotted DOFFs to your 'Roster total'.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.