Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Federation Shipyards (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=218)
-   -   LRS retro Ablative armor (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=266897)

Archived Post 04-18-2012 06:20 AM

LRS retro Ablative armor

I'm not sure if maybe I'm just doing it wrong, but I got this ship because I love Voyager, and I thought it'd cool to have the ablative armor, and I am a Science Officer.

It seems like more often than not, in PVP deploying the armor gets me killed rather than saving me in a pinch. When my shields go offline to deploy the armor, get killed almost instantly by whoever is attacking me, before the armor has a chance to even fully come on.

That being said ,I could deploy it earlier but if I still have shields and decent armor, I wouldn't particularly need to use it, at the time, so it's kind of like a waste of a fairly long cooldown, for 15 seconds of damage resistance that isn't even fully necessary.

I like the ship but so far the armor has been more of a disappointment.

Archived Post 04-18-2012 06:30 AM

I would agree, they could really do with changing the way it works, so that it activates as soon as you hit the key, regardless of the annimation.

Archived Post 04-18-2012 06:44 AM

Interesting - had been considering purchasing the LRS Retro as a secondary ship to my Science Odyssey.

Whilst I love the Oddy, and would have to say that it will remain my primary ship, I have on occasion swapped to my Nova refit when have wanted to fly something a little more 'agile' than the Oddy - assume the LRS fits the bill in that sense and would have the sub-system targeting that the Oddy, as a cruiser, lacks - but am wondering if it's worthwhilse investing in it now, especially since it doesn't sound as if the armor is the 'livesafer' it's supposed to be and I don't have the best equipment to add to the ship.

Archived Post 04-18-2012 07:00 AM