Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Steam overlay and STO client bugs introduced in recent update. (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=271891)

Archived Post 05-26-2012 09:12 AM

Steam overlay and STO client bugs introduced in recent update.
 
So, I've been using the steam version of the game since it went free to play. This has made it pretty easy for me to use the steam wallet to buy CP.

Enter today's sale. I attempt to do the same, and it redirects me to PWE's site. Considering how much of a foulup PWE's payment site is (And considering I have $50 sitting in my steam wallet already) I will not be going with that payment option.

The problem:
STO and Steam have become decoupled. I launch STO from steam, get into the launcher window, and shortly after I hit "Engage" just exactly when it swaps to the Cryptic window, I get dropped from the steam overlay. As a result the game doesn't shunt me into steam to buy CP, and I can find no other way to do the transaction.

Steam shows that I have 30odd hours of playtime in the last two weeks, which makes the culprit patch for breaking things the thursday the 17th patch.

So could we get this fixed? And in a manner I still get my bonus CP? :)

Archived Post 05-27-2012 01:32 PM

Also submitted as ticket #120527-000273

Archived Post 05-29-2012 10:32 AM

Did a whole client reinstall, no effect at all. No reply to my ticket, either.

Archived Post 06-14-2012 12:33 PM

Ok I have a bit more information on what seems to be going on.

Launching the game from steam executes /steamapps/common/star trek online/star trek online.exe

This is the patcher. Once the patcher has done its thing, it appears to load steamapps/common/star trek online/star trek online/live/gameclient.exe
It is when the patcher launches gameclient that it loses the steam overlay, and with it my ability to buy cryptic points.

I could resolve the problem by manually launching gameclient.exe from steam, but when I do that I am unable to reach the account servers in game.

So. . . where do we go from here?

swiftintruders 12-12-2012 12:38 AM

Same problem here

masterdefiant 12-12-2012 01:06 AM

Since the patch for Q's winter wonderland
 
Nothing is working for me its even major lag problems or don't get any of the rewards at all have send in two tickets when I can do it from the game so is there anything that can be done or stuck this way til so call support get off there asses

druinwalf 12-24-2012 02:46 PM

Same Here
 
Has anyone had a resolution to this issue? I notice my overlay is missing since the last patch and I think that coincides with not being able to purchase Zen.

syberghost 12-24-2012 03:37 PM

[Rolls into the thread while activating Target Optics and unholstering the [Zombie Control Compression Pistol of Epicosity Mk XIV], shoots and vaporizes this exposed Zombie thread!] :cool:

This thread was raised from the dead (after no posts for 30 days or more) and it had to be put down.

Please remember to check the dates of threads; and if you find an old thread raised from the dead which violates the PWE Community Rules and Policies just report it and avoid posting in it.

Note that you're more than welcome to start a new thread on the topic (unless there is an existing thread on the topic that has received a post within the last 30 days, in which case you can just continue to post in that thread)! :)

Cheers,

syberghost


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 AM.