Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Does anyone else think the entire UI is a sloppy mess? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=274109)

Archived Post 06-16-2012 01:27 AM

Does anyone else think the entire UI is a sloppy mess?
 
It seems with each update that adds new features they just stuff more crap into the already cramped UI, it's so messy and disorganized I can't believe it. It really needs to be overhauled. The game feels like some ametuer project or something with the UI in such a state.

Archived Post 06-16-2012 02:40 AM

Nope. No problems from my end.

aexrael 06-21-2012 10:25 AM

If they would allow us to customize the UI similar to how EQ/EQ2 did, it would solve alot of issues.

psycoticvulcan 06-21-2012 10:33 AM

I think it's fine for the most part, though I would like to be able to move stuff/resize/etc stuff.

eiledon 06-21-2012 10:37 AM

you can move and rearrange stuff using the rearrange hud option. also some windows are resizable. seems pretty customisable to me. yes some dialogs are not as intuitive as they could be but they are obviously limited by the technology they designed back at the beginning.

reximuz 06-23-2012 04:07 AM

The UI is terrible, though it has some nice features, like being able to re-arrange elements, but even that might require some trial and error because the mover boxes are not an accurate show of the actual visual area/size of the element.

The ground tray won't stay at 3 bars, its constantly collapsing down to 1 bar.

There are constantly used tools on the mini-map, most of which are too small, or hidden in a sub-menu, I wish they would take some off the mini-map and make a LCARS like menu bar across the top of the power tray to make it easier to hit inventory, PvP and PvE queues, and DOFFs. This would open some space on the Mini-Map for items currently hidden on the sub-menu.

All inventory items need to be dragged and dropped into the bank, or vice versa, instead of just clicking and auto-stacking.

You need to be able to set a default weapon, the UI for some reason doesn't like to recall which weapon was the last one you used and stay on it.

Certain CDs that should be real time, like transwarp and tribble buffs, only tick down when are online or in ground mode or space mode. Its annoying to not play for several days and come online and not be able to transwarp, or my Dilithium tribble CD timer takes weeks to count down one hour because I play a lot more space then ground.

The system doesn't remember BOFF seats per ship makes it more work then needed to switch between ships, maybe they will fully address this when they allow us to set a default shuttle.

Those are just the things on top of my head.

boolybooly 07-09-2012 02:18 PM

I find the UI extremely frustrating, especially in the middle of ground battles where the UI has a habit of getting in the way of what you want to do and that comes on top of inconsistent interactions between terrain, avatar and weapons which is before you even get to grips with the borg.

eg I have to continually press the B key then use my mouse to click the need greed pass items then press B again to carry on fighting... and I better make sure I don't have any other windows open when the borg arrive or it all goes to pot.

IMHO the engine does not seem suited to the kind of gameplay it is trying to present.

tebsu 07-09-2012 02:52 PM

just searched for quite some minutes on exchange, found THAT item, pressed U to see what i have equipped currently -> exchange windows closed.

that was fun. not.

boolybooly 07-10-2012 06:42 AM

How often do you press enter and start chat typing only to find you are typing hotkeys?

Happens to me all the time and despite taking great pains to hit enter but it doesnt register because some other event has interrupted and blocked a perfectly good keyboard input.

UI really is a disaster imho.

mikewendell 07-10-2012 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boolybooly (Post 4680951)
How often do you press enter and start chat typing only to find you are typing hotkeys?

This. That even happens to me after I;ve clicked in the chat or exchange field. Loses focus quite often.

Copy and paste is a crap shoot as well.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.