Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Client Launcher not launching properly after autoupdate (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=295721)

fellshadowwolf 07-05-2012 12:33 PM

Client Launcher not launching properly after autoupdate
 
Ok, i've been with PWI tech support on this issue, and I think we're all stumped. The problem is after the launcher completes a autoupdate, it then runs in the background (and by that, i mean the only way you can tell it's running is Task Manager, or Process Explorer), using a constant 13 CPU, and sometimes even 12, before going back up to 13 again. After that, I can run it for 10, 20, 45 minutes, and nothing will happen. In fact, it'll be using the same amount of CPU as it was before! I've tried disabling every part of BitDefender Internet Security 2013 to see if that would help, and made sure no other programs that could be conflicting like other security solutions (including those built into Windows), TeamViewer (don't even have it), and anything else that would be a hindrance.

I don't understand whats going on...it worked up before the launcher updates itself to version 2012.5.11.1914 The launcher worked fine before that, but now it decides it's not going to run properly. The game still runs, but without the launcher, I have no idea how I'm going to patch the game. Does anyone have any ideas whats could be happening here?

nxnovacat 07-05-2012 09:59 PM

I am having the same issue with the game client. I also can't force verify at all. I never had a problem with the launcher until this latest patch hit.

I also have used backup versions of my old client to patch to this newer one and still the same issue. This one is broke.

wolvenshire 07-07-2012 06:49 PM

Same here, you can also run multiple copies in the task manager as well. I have had up to 6. lol Also if I try to log in using just the gameclient.exe It times out trying to get to the account. I also have bit BitDefender 2013. The correct files are all in the firewall exceptions. All othe games continue to work.
If there is anymore info you need, let me know.

Edit: I uninstalled the game for a second time and used my install disks, when I clicked on the STO icon to start the game the patch window shows up in the upper left hand cornor and then does what it did before. The small patch window closes but no launch window no matter how long I let it run, but it shows up in the task window. I have also went down the compatibility mode from Windows 95 - Windows 7 . I have two log files one is crash.log the other is shutdown.log

CRASH.log shows: 120708 06:31:55 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down: C:\src\Core\CrypticLauncher\patcher.c(100)

Shutdown.log shows: 120708 06:31:55 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down: C:\src\Core\CrypticLauncher\patcher.c(100)

The funny thing is Star Trek Online is on a SSD drive D

Hope this helps to debug this problem some of us are having.
(Really wanted to test on tribble this weekend.)

wolvenshire 07-16-2012 10:29 AM

Maybe coming her might help, I contacted perfect world support but no reply. I got Windows 8 to create a dmp file. It is 90 MB.

Update: Did a second dmp file. The new one is around 101,000 KB. lol

knives490 12-27-2012 11:15 AM

i dont know if this will help anyone, my bbrother was having major issues launching STO, we verifyed that the launcher was set to run in compatibality for XP service pack 3 and run as admin. this is windows 7 btw.

we found 1 major fix... windows update. the patcher was updated on there .net framework and other files, after a few hrs of patching, he was able to play again


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 PM.