Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Gameplay Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Memory Alpha Crashes (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=324071)

thlaylierah 07-22-2012 10:06 PM

Memory Alpha Crashes
 
I get a crash or two every time I'm at Memory Alpha and only there?

My system is way overqualified for this games stats and my internet connection is the fastest available.

toralan 07-22-2012 11:20 PM

Crash confirmed
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thlaylierah (Post 4916501)
I get a crash or two every time I'm at Memory Alpha and only there?

My system is way overqualified for this games stats and my internet connection is the fastest available.

It's not your system, I think. I have the same thing. It mostly (and consistently) happens when I leave the transporter room and enter the main corridor. After I relog, I am fine, unless I go back to the transporter room and then try to re-enter the corridor.

I have stood and observed this part of Memory Alpha and I have seen it happen to the majority of people who exit the transporter room.

I have entered support ticket #1,364,643 with Cryptic, but I have had no reply.

mikewendell 07-23-2012 07:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thlaylierah (Post 4916501)
my internet connection is the fastest available.

You're paying $125k a month for a OC-768? How is it? ;)

edit: If you;re running with DirectXv11, consider trying the game under directxv9. The game appears to have come a long way with dxv11 support but it still may do better with the lower setting.

I wonder if all these folks are having that map transfer error other folks have had previously and this is just another bug that has gotten worse like the exchange bug.

toralan 07-23-2012 09:06 AM

If you eliminate the impossible....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mikewendell (Post 4920941)
You're paying $125k a month for a OC-768? How is it? ;)

edit: If you;re running with DirectXv11, consider trying the game under directxv9. The game appears to have come a long way with dxv11 support but it still may do better with the lower setting.

I wonder if all these folks are having that map transfer error other folks have had previously and this is just another bug that has gotten worse like the exchange bug.

I don't know. I have not been playing STO for that long, but I have visited Memory Alpha several times before S6 and never had a single problem (aside trying to locate the fanatically wandering Mr. O'Brien), but since S6, the crashing is such a foregone conclusion (it happens fully 100% of the time) that I have given up on research altogether.

Given what I see on other threads, I have this sneaking suspicion that several developers forgot to implement their past fixes and patches into the S6 codebase.

lordmalak1 07-23-2012 11:41 AM

I'll confirm this bug, first time in weeks I go to mem alpha, and as soon as I turn to enter the corridor from the transporter (50 steps or so) my game crashes to desktop.

Never happened before, as well I won't be going there for the near future or playing my fed toon (because of the insanely long loading times of Sol system).

zanthe25 07-31-2012 04:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thlaylierah (Post 4916501)
I get a crash or two every time I'm at Memory Alpha and only there?

My system is way overqualified for this games stats and my internet connection is the fastest available.

I have exact same issue, every time I go to Memory Alpha, I spawn in transporter room, all seem fine, but as soon as i try to walk through the second doorway it crashes to desktop.

After reloading game everything works fine again, until I leave and come back.

(Windows 7 64bit)

grboyan 07-31-2012 07:10 AM

Same here. Every time (2 times I was there) game crashed on same place. After restart it's fine.

unkeemrc 07-31-2012 08:38 AM

Every time I go there with my level 3 TAC it crashes over and over til I just have to give up and beam out. It seems to only happen when I am moving around from room to room.

admrenlarreck 07-31-2012 10:00 AM

this happens to me as well, get to the senod door, game crashes to desk top. reboot and Im ok.

purplegamer 07-31-2012 09:57 PM

Add me to the list of people experiencing this. 100% reproducible: Beam into Memory Alpha and run into the main corridor, there in the hallway, the game locks up and crashes to desktop. Happens every time.

Logging back in, I'm fine, so long as I don't go back to the transporter room.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.