Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Academy (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   How do YOU fire your weapons? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=368201)

wikkedjr 08-26-2012 07:14 AM

How do YOU fire your weapons?
 
Just curious....

Are most folks using autofire? Using a button for each weapon? Using fire all energy weapons?

tenkari 08-26-2012 07:20 AM

i remember way back before they gave autofire to all weapons... made clicking buttons necessary.

I prefer autofire for most my setups.

anazonda 08-26-2012 07:24 AM

Manual all the way...

Space for Cannons/Turrets
Ctrl+Space for Torps

defalus 08-26-2012 07:26 AM

I run a custom keybind so my spacebar fires energy weapons, distributes shields and depending on my ship/setup activates (cycles) two copies emergency power to shields for 100% uptime on shield power and resistances there.

If I'm in a cruiser my spacebar will also cycle 2 copies of emergency power to weapons. In an escort/bop my spacebar will also have weapons buffs like attack pattern beta, cannon rapid fire, tac team and beam overload cycling so I don't have to do everything manually.

Only time I have autofire on an energy weapon is so my torpedos which are on autofire know to start autofiring if that makes sense, on escort/bop though I prefer all energy build so no torps there.

Ah they joys of keybinding for a lazy bugger like me.:D

velktra 08-26-2012 07:27 AM

On my ship, I use autofire, but I turn it off for STFs if we're running the 10% rule (then turn it back on once the gens are down).

I used to use the hot keys, but I blow up less frequently when I have autofire set... guess it gives me more time to look around and find the bad guys. That and the ship movement buttons are on the same side of the keyboard as the usual "fire weapons" buttons, and if I change anything I'll just confuse myself.

On ground I use the hot keys. Movement there can be done with the arrows, so I can run and shoot with no problems. (And even though I keep hearing there's ground autofire, I can't get it to work anyway.)

th3xr34p3r 08-26-2012 07:35 AM

I use a macro on my G13 that continually presses space (every 0.5 sec) bound to "GenSendMessage HUD_Root FirePhasers $$ +power_exec Distribute_Shields" as a on/of toggle macro, this in-turn lets me time me firing my torps and main abilities during combat using my thumb keys on my naga mouse.

wikkedjr 08-26-2012 07:57 AM

...
 
Good grief Defalus! Is that done through the game or a keyboard macro setup?

blitzsth 08-26-2012 07:59 AM

I run auto-fire on all but my torps, As I like to fire my torps manually after I use full spread or volley. Rather than waiting for a torp to reload, then oh crap I forgot to push full spread and now I have to wait for them to reload again.

It gives me greater control over them and I fire them when an enemies shield/shields are down, giving me better dmg.

Having your energy weapons on auto-fire is IMO the correct method. Because you don't want to be trying to manually firing them, as well as hitting the hotkeys, turning your ship and turning your camera angle to look around. It can cause more problems, but thats my opinion. Kudos to those that can do all that and not make any mistakes.

grylak 08-26-2012 08:02 AM

Space bar to fire all phasers.


Torpedos I fire manually by mouse click on the icon, since the best use of a Torpedo relies on timing.

dbxxx 08-26-2012 08:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by grylak (Post 5463491)
Space bar to fire all phasers.


Torpedos I fire manually by mouse click on the icon, since the best use of a Torpedo relies on timing.

same, space bar for energy, then the torps and buffs I do manually :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.