Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Star Trek Online General Discussion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   [Suggestion] Increase max purchase amount of commodities (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=384841)

ikuruyo 09-12-2012 04:33 AM

[Suggestion] Increase max purchase amount of commodities
 
I would like to request an increase of the max number of commodities seletable with the slider from 50 to 250, the current commodity stack size.

When commodities were mostly used in "Aid the Planet" and duty officer assignments being limited to buying 50 at a time was not really an issue. There were few assignments that required more then 50 at once of any commodity. Now however they are used in the upgrading of starbases and the number required is not trivial, even if the total cost sometimes is.

The project "Reinforce Local Systems I" from military tier 1 requires 2500 shield generators. At base price that is 250,000 EC, a fairly insignificant amount, however to purchase that many you have to click buy and move the slider to the max FIFTY times. You might point out that its normally spread across several people in a fleet but that is still a lot of work that could be avoided. If the max purchasable at once was increased to match the stack size of 250 it would only be TEN purchases.

Looking ahead some of the projects require more and more of these things. "Reinforce Local Systems II" is 5000 shield generators (100 slides of the slider), "Reinforce Local Systems III" requires 7500 shield generators (150 slides of the slider). If the trend continues then "Reinforce Local Systems V" will be 250 slides of the slider to max and a spending of 1.25 million EC. The work required to slide that slider over becomes several times the amount it would take to earn that much EC, and might in fact take more time then it takes to earn the EC.

Thank you for your time.

seannewboy 09-12-2012 05:07 AM

I second this.

nyxadrill 09-12-2012 05:21 AM

+ 1 followed by a lot of zeros to this!

Moving the slider to 250 would be ideal.

Totally agree.

milesvaugn 09-12-2012 06:51 AM

The slider should not slide to a set maximum number; but to whatever is the maximum stack size of the item you are buying.

  • Buying Vulcan Spiced Tea (max stack size of 20)? Slider maxes out at 20.
  • Buying basic commodities (max sack size of 250)? Slider maxes out at 250.
  • Buying Eludium-Q13 Explosive Space Modulators (max stack size of 999)? Slider maxes out at 999.

This would make transactions a bit more intuitive.

momaw 09-12-2012 08:55 AM

Or just add a text box where we can put in an integer to buy any arbitrary amount we want up to the limit of our inventory space.

mimey2 09-12-2012 09:16 AM

ANY means of buying more all at once would be quite nice. 250 at a time, 1000 at a time, something to reduce the tediousness of clicking over and over and over.

darkjeff 09-12-2012 10:27 AM

I think the intent was never for one guy to buy 5000 shield generators and convert that to fleet credits.

quiscustodiet 09-12-2012 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by momaw (Post 5682521)
Or just add a text box where we can put in an integer to buy any arbitrary amount we want up to the limit of our inventory space.

This.

















.

bluegeek 09-12-2012 12:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by momaw (Post 5682521)
Or just add a text box where we can put in an integer to buy any arbitrary amount we want up to the limit of our inventory space.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ikuruyo (Post 5680121)
I would like to request an increase of the max number of commodities seletable with the slider from 50 to 250, the current commodity stack size.

When commodities were mostly used in "Aid the Planet" and duty officer assignments being limited to buying 50 at a time was not really an issue. There were few assignments that required more then 50 at once of any commodity. Now however they are used in the upgrading of starbases and the number required is not trivial, even if the total cost sometimes is.

The project "Reinforce Local Systems I" from military tier 1 requires 2500 shield generators. At base price that is 250,000 EC, a fairly insignificant amount, however to purchase that many you have to click buy and move the slider to the max FIFTY times. You might point out that its normally spread across several people in a fleet but that is still a lot of work that could be avoided. If the max purchasable at once was increased to match the stack size of 250 it would only be TEN purchases.

Looking ahead some of the projects require more and more of these things. "Reinforce Local Systems II" is 5000 shield generators (100 slides of the slider), "Reinforce Local Systems III" requires 7500 shield generators (150 slides of the slider). If the trend continues then "Reinforce Local Systems V" will be 250 slides of the slider to max and a spending of 1.25 million EC. The work required to slide that slider over becomes several times the amount it would take to earn that much EC, and might in fact take more time then it takes to earn the EC.

Thank you for your time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by milesvaugn (Post 5681381)
The slider should not slide to a set maximum number; but to whatever is the maximum stack size of the item you are buying.

  • Buying Vulcan Spiced Tea (max stack size of 20)? Slider maxes out at 20.
  • Buying basic commodities (max sack size of 250)? Slider maxes out at 250.
  • Buying Eludium-Q13 Explosive Space Modulators (max stack size of 999)? Slider maxes out at 999.

This would make transactions a bit more intuitive.

Any of the above. Preferably before I experience permanent wrist injury.

mimey2 09-12-2012 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by darkjeff (Post 5683561)
I think the intent was never for one guy to buy 5000 shield generators and convert that to fleet credits.

Even so, that's only 5,000 fleet credits, 6,000 if using a bonus. And presuming you bought them from a vendor for 75 each, that's still 375k EC, double if you replicate them.

I don't think it's a big issue really. It's more tedious and annoying than anything. Newer/poorer people may not have the money to really buy enough to make it worth their time and money. Richer folks may have the money, but may not always want to, unless they have to do so.

Either way, it's still very annoying for anybody to click to 50, over and over and over.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.