Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Does STO work "decent" on windows 8 (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=462241)

startrek1234567 11-24-2012 05:41 PM

Does STO work "decent" on windows 8
 
Im getting a new desktop soon and it my have windows 8...

Questions:

1. Does STO work "decent" on Windows 8?
2. If STO does not work well on Windows 8, can i change back to Windows 7
3. Is there any "bugs" in STO because of having Windows 8


Im kinda worried about this...STO is one of my favioret games, and i would hate for it to not work on Windows 8 "decently"

voporak 11-24-2012 07:17 PM

^^Same question I'm asking, since I'm getting a computer with W8 for Christmas. I'm pretty sure it does because Commadore_Bob said in one of his videos that he is using it and he is still recording his STO videos. He also said W8 is basically a glorified start menu, and I can confirm this since my dad and I took it on a test run. An utterly confounding system, but from what I can see it will run STO decently.

mastergenera1 11-27-2012 08:55 AM

i have a couple of fleet mates who use w8 and they have no issue as of yet.i wont be upgrading myself until there is a "disable metro" option built into w8 myself.btw voporak i answered ur thread if u didnt see it yet.not gonna repost here.

slasherdude1 04-25-2014 01:03 PM

sto wont patch for me and I have w8 and I dnt know what to do

nccmark 04-25-2014 01:11 PM

None of these issues seems likely to be tied to Windows 8 specifically.
I have Windows 8, and except for the FPS loss that everyone seems to note, I've had no issues.

What are your specs?

Mine are:
•Intel® Core i7-4770 processor 3.4GHz
•32GB DDR3 Memory
•NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
It's all connected to a 24" 1080p HDTV.

And yes: You can use this game on Windows 7, if you want to spend the money to roll back.

stelakkh 04-25-2014 01:19 PM

LOL Since STO doesn't work decently on XP, Vista, 7, or Mac, I see no reason to think there'd be any difference in performance on 8.

gurugeorge 04-25-2014 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stelakkh (Post 16586471)
LOL Since STO doesn't work decently on XP, Vista, 7, or Mac, I see no reason to think there'd be any difference in performance on 8.

Works great in Vista 64 bit on a homebuilt system here - of all the current MMOs, only Guild Wars 2 is slicker. The other Cryptic MMOs, Neverwinter and Champions Online also work great.

jmknox 01-04-2015 08:33 PM

STO on windows 8 desktop/lapto
 
I currently have a windows 7 on my laptop, but have a desktop that has windows 8. I can't get it to run off my desktop. What do I need to do?
JK


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.