Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Severe Lag/High Ping via netgraph (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=471461)

pegasussgc 12-02-2012 08:08 PM

Severe Lag/High Ping via netgraph
 
I've been getting a huge amount of lag, I checked the ping using netgraph and it is fluctuating wildly from 100-3000 ping. Here is a Tracert to the patchserver:

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 10.14.8.1
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 10.1.1.9
4 61 ms 201 ms 198 ms 209.221.47.61
5 108 ms 103 ms 113 ms atl-bb1-geth0-0-0-15.telia.net [213.248.90.29]
6 118 ms 119 ms 137 ms ash-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.252.213]
7 123 ms 116 ms 121 ms te0-7-0-6.mpd21.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.10.57]
8 130 ms 125 ms 122 ms te0-2-0-4.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.26.113]
9 58 ms 63 ms * te0-7-0-2.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.3.46]
10 * 60 ms 51 ms te0-0-0-1.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.1]
11 47 ms 45 ms 49 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]
12 62 ms 70 ms 57 ms 38.111.40.114
13 47 ms 61 ms 48 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

Here are the Nettest results:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: ******* - I'm hiding this
Ping: 130.5 msec
Port: 80: 13 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 32 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 36 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 28 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 110 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 24 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 57 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 28 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 32 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: timed out
Port: 7003: 29 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 30 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 35 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: timed out
Port: 7202: 21 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 34 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 33 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 37 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 36 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 41 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 38 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 41 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 1 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

My ISP is Northland Cable and I'm located near Savannah, GA.

Here is a Pingtest from pingtest.net:
http://www.pingtest.net/result/73275626.png

Here is a Speedtest:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2347373763.png

I've tried bypassing the router and switching the routers, no luck. I've got STO installed on a Desktop and a Laptop and the lag is happening on both.

Anyone got any ideas of what could be going on?

Before Season 7 I was not having any issues with lag, ever since it began its been horrible a lot of the time. Every once in a while I get some time to play when there's no lag, but it seems those times are coming less and less often.

pegasussgc 12-02-2012 08:33 PM

Here's an additional net test for good measure:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: ***** - i'm hiding this
Ping: 214.4 msec
Port: 80: 25 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 28 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: timed out
Port: 443: 41 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 22 KB/sec 394 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 25 KB/sec 1766 KB/sec 52 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 24 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 21 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 27 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 23 KB/sec 402 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 22 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 26 KB/sec 235 KB/sec 33 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 18 KB/sec 163 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 28 KB/sec 535 KB/sec 37 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

grouchyotaku 12-03-2012 12:28 AM

It seems its time you had that little talk with your ISP... For adequate performance, your Net-Test should be in the 300 - 500 KB/sec range, while the throughput that you're showing are in the 20s KB/sec range, which makes it comparable to an old-fashion telephone modem...

Since the problem isn't limited to a single computer, the issue must be further down the pipeline...

hanover2 12-03-2012 07:03 AM

They'll try to blame it on localized ISPs, but it's not random coincidence that this always happens when there is a big patch and a large volume of players logged on. The problem is on Cryptic's end, but the fix won't generate immediate profits, so if you're lucky, it'll get noted in passing somewhere and then ignored until the next big push.

pegasussgc 12-03-2012 11:53 AM

I really hope the problem is not on my ISP's end, they are pretty much the only game in town where I am. On a side note, I also play Lord of the Rings online and I have absolutely no issues with it, no lag or high pings. I realize these games are probably using different ports.
Could my ISP be port throttling?

blackjackwidow 12-03-2012 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hanover2 (Post 6906171)
They'll try to blame it on localized ISPs, but it's not random coincidence that this always happens when there is a big patch and a large volume of players logged on. The problem is on Cryptic's end, but the fix won't generate immediate profits, so if you're lucky, it'll get noted in passing somewhere and then ignored until the next big push.

This.

Lag so bad today, I got "server not responding" in almost every zone change during the last tour, only to get booted entirely with a "account server can't be reached" message trying to log back in. After 3 attempts, I got as far as loading Gamma Orionis, up came the "server not responding" message, and got booted out again.

Amazingly, although it was suggested that I "check my connection", STO is the only thing with the problem.

grouchyotaku 12-03-2012 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hanover2 (Post 6906171)
They'll try to blame it on localized ISPs, but it's not random coincidence that this always happens when there is a big patch and a large volume of players logged on. The problem is on Cryptic's end, but the fix won't generate immediate profits, so if you're lucky, it'll get noted in passing somewhere and then ignored until the next big push.

If the problem was on Cryptic's end, then how do you explain why thousand of users can play STO without issue...

I take it you haven't read this on-going thread in the PWE Support Forums... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

lewstelamon01 12-03-2012 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by grouchyotaku (Post 6911281)
If the problem was on Cryptic's end, then how do you explain why thousand of users can play STO without issue...

I take it you haven't read this on-going thread in the PWE Support Forums... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

Because some people still haven't gotten the concept that the Internet consists of more than just their computer and the STO servers.

Nettest on the above clearly shows some port throttling or something restricting your bandwidth thoroughput--what you're getting is a tenth or so of what you SHOULD be getting for STO to connect smoothly. That's an ISP issue--not Cryptic.


Also, the traceroute shows a lot of partial timeouts (each hop sends three data packets, an asterisk in your trace means that packet did not reach its destination). Hops 5-8 also are problematic (anything above 100ms is cause for concern). However, not all of those hops are controlled by the same ISP, else I'd conclude that there was a relay issue with a particular ISP along the route.

Your ISP must be way way out in the sticks....LOL.

As to your PC being able to run LotRO with no issues, that may be due to the fact that the route to those servers may be different than the data route between your PC and the STO server. Two games do not necessarily utilize the same route to their respective servers.

pegasussgc 12-03-2012 05:13 PM

Alright, I just got off the phone with my ISP support and explained the situation. They claim they don't block or throttle any ports, obviously they could be lying but this ISP has been relatively good in the past. Is it possible there are some Infrastructure problems due to hurricane Sandy? I am baffled by this issue. Also, this issue seems to be cropping up at night, I have no issues with the game during the day time EST hours.

lewstelamon01 12-03-2012 06:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pegasussgc (Post 6914401)
Alright, I just got off the phone with my ISP support and explained the situation. They claim they don't block or throttle any ports, obviously they could be lying but this ISP has been relatively good in the past. Is it possible there are some Infrastructure problems due to hurricane Sandy? I am baffled by this issue. Also, this issue seems to be cropping up at night, I have no issues with the game during the day time EST hours.

Perhaps, but not likely in this case. Referring back to your trace:

Quote:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 10.14.8.1
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 10.1.1.9
4 61 ms 201 ms 198 ms 209.221.47.61
5 108 ms 103 ms 113 ms atl-bb1-geth0-0-0-15.telia.net [213.248.90.29]
6 118 ms 119 ms 137 ms ash-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.252.213]
7 123 ms 116 ms 121 ms te0-7-0-6.mpd21.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.10.57]
8 130 ms 125 ms 122 ms te0-2-0-4.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.26.113]
9 58 ms 63 ms * te0-7-0-2.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.3.46]
10 * 60 ms 51 ms te0-0-0-1.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.1]
11 47 ms 45 ms 49 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]

12 62 ms 70 ms 57 ms 38.111.40.114
13 47 ms 61 ms 48 ms 208.95.185.41
Those hops I've bolded appear to run up the eastern seaboard. Of those, only hops 9-11 appear to be in the area affected by Sandy. Now that 11th hop has had significant lag of late (something I noted in the global support thread referenced in this thread). But for the trace you've posted, it's doing fine.

How far in the nighttime are you having these issues? Prime time hours? Late evening/early AM hours? Most ISPs do any network maintenance in the wee hours of the morning, when there is usually the least projected load on the network.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 AM.