Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Star Trek Online General Discussion (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   Change back what the V key scans for (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=486721)

fedman70 12-16-2012 10:44 AM

Change back what the V key scans for
 
I'm wondering why mission objectives (things to scan in missions, both on the ground and in space) were removed when you press the V key? Probably so you can just find data samples. But now, sometimes I've been running around a zone for 15 minutes trying to find the last thing to scan.

quintaris 12-16-2012 10:45 AM

I ran a B'Tran mission last night, and I could tricorder scan for the artifacts I needed to find.

sollvax 12-16-2012 10:48 AM

was working yesterday

maxvitor 12-16-2012 12:02 PM

Works for me too, never had a problem finding things.

markhawkman 12-16-2012 12:30 PM

certain types of objects you could never scan for. You may have one of those.

captw 12-16-2012 12:59 PM

v scan works just fine for me, open beta tester hasn't changed since.

allyoftheforce 12-16-2012 04:23 PM

Sometimes data samples spawn under the terrain and will fool with the scanner. Don't forget, that there is a range to how far away you can be for the scanner to indicate an object in a certain direction, even if it does say there is an anomaly on the map.

fedman70 12-18-2012 07:20 PM

Maybe what it is, is it does not count mission objectives the scan for as anomalies anymore. Last night, I was doing a mission on the ground scanning for probes. I got all the data samples and had only one probe left. When I pressed V, it said I had 0 anomalies.

I tried walking past it in one direction, then scanning, then walking past it in the other and scanning, it didn't seem to give me the blue shining trail of where to go to.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.