Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   Patrols are for #### (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=490321)

ajstoner 12-19-2012 12:58 PM

Patrols are for ####
 
I have added patrols for a bunch of my missions and I am now in the process of removing them. They only fire-off haphazardly, they don't start moving until the player is within a certain range, they cause mobs to vanish under the floor on a lot of ground maps, etc.

psycoticvulcan 12-19-2012 01:35 PM

I believe it was stated that they only work properly once the mission has been published.

ajstoner 12-19-2012 03:32 PM

I added them to almost all my missions and they didn't work correctly even when published. I have since gone back and removed them.

mmotnahp 12-19-2012 03:35 PM

I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.

psycoticvulcan 12-19-2012 05:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mmotnahp (Post 7161121)
I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.

Huh. Not much point in that, is there?

markhawkman 12-19-2012 08:53 PM

One of the missions I played for the challenge, has patrols in a hallway. Very buggy behavior.... the guys walk down the hallway and disappear occasionally then reappear.... actually... I think they may have been going into the ceiling somehow.

nagorak 12-19-2012 10:38 PM

You need to make sure you're setting the patrol point Y value relative to zero, as the other options don't work (it is set relative to zero anyway).

My observation is that the patrols seem to "start" when the map loads, but they don't actually appear until you get close to the group's spawn location. Which means they'll appear halfway through their route. I can't say for certain that's what's happening, but it seems like it. I haven't actually used any ground patrols for actual combat, so I can't comment on that.

lordmalak1 12-24-2012 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mmotnahp (Post 7161121)
I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.

Hmmm, I found the opposite to be true.

ajstoner 12-24-2012 10:27 AM

They are utterly inconsistant, I had 3 patroled mobs (set-up the exact same way) all in the same area, doing looped routes in a series of concentric rings. The middle one works about half the time. The inner and outter ones worked for a short time then stopped working.

Patrols are broken.

nagorak 12-25-2012 03:44 AM

So, has anyone had patrols actually work, or is it basically unanimous that they're broken? I seem to have had some success using them on space maps, but I haven't checked them out that thoroughly to make sure they're working 100%.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.