Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Klingon Gameplay (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=166)
-   -   My first KDF toon: Thoughts (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=491581)

starhound 12-20-2012 03:38 PM

My first KDF toon: Thoughts

So I have been playing STO for most of 2012 as a Federation character and I've had a lot of fun with her, bought her an Excelsior, Borg Boff and got plenty of sets and advancement in a fleet and rep system.

Last week I looked at that KDF slot and thought, why not? As a huge Trekkie I know how awesome the Klingons are and I fancied trying my first TAC instead of the ENG I had used with the Federation since day one.

K'Narvok was born, my Klingon TAC officer. I finished him and knew immediatley that I wanted to fly some Raptors. Im now level 40. I have, as usual, lurked the forums and read the wiki for KDF tips and advice. Here are my initial impressions:

1. PVP is a damn blast. Alpha strike. Cannon rapid fire. Torpedo High yield. Tactical Team. De-cloak. Federation dude panics as my DHC's rip through his hull...boom.

You FEEL like such a predator/badass stalking another player, chatting with other KDF warriors for the right moment to strike. Im posting this just after logging off following a 15-2 victory. I came first and never died. Its exhilirating compared to PVP as a fed.

2. Marauding. Until I played, I hadn't a clue what this was but jeez: resources just aren't a problem for KDF. I have been playing my KDF toon for a week and I have 25 contraband stocked and tens of thousands of dilithium. Attack transports, sell prisoners, sell contraband. Its a doddle with the KDF.

3. A few days back I got that replica Kahless Bat'leth. Walked through that [awesome] jungle/crashed BOP mission sluaghtering Hirogen fools with it. Again: you feel like a complete badass.