Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   connection/login issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=498911)

squidjoe 12-28-2012 04:56 PM

connection/login issues
 
Methinks it's time for a server restart. I am having a great deal of trouble connecting to the log in, authentication and character servers and when I do manage to log into the game with a character I can't move or do anything. The server quits responding.

I have already checked with my service, checked other games and no issues there. Ran a ping test and had my service do a reset from their end.

It's all yours, boys.

grouchyotaku 12-28-2012 07:04 PM

I've had no problem at all playing STO this afternoon, so something else must be the problem. Run and post the results of the Net-Test and Trace Route diagnostics described in this thread... http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=225155

as a simple ping test just doesn't provide the necessary information to diagnose network issues...

argent007 12-28-2012 08:06 PM

i have also been noticing some pretty near-crippling connection issues to STO


NOTHING ELSE IS AFFECTED HOWEVER, ONLY STO

lewstelamon01 12-28-2012 11:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by argent007 (Post 7273321)
i have also been noticing some pretty near-crippling connection issues to STO


NOTHING ELSE IS AFFECTED HOWEVER, ONLY STO

It doesn't matter "what else is affected", as different internet destinations by necessity travel different routes. What affects your route to STO doesn't necessarily affect your route to anywhere else.

Run the diagnostics specified in the above post and post the results.

Quote:

I have already checked with my service, checked other games and no issues there. Ran a ping test and had my service do a reset from their end.
Simply because your ping isn't timing out doesn't mean it's returning acceptable results. Any ISP tech rep that tells you to run only a simple ping test is usually a rep on the line who's just trying to get you off the phone and on to the next customer in line.

See my above paragraph for why "it works fine with other games" is completely irrelevant to the problem. (Yep, I'm blunt in saying this but I've heard it a hundred times by now.)

Also, a simple ping doesn't tell the whole story. A traceroute (as specified in the linky that otaku provided) tells how your data is getting there, and what stops it's making along the way.

zauldjamin 12-29-2012 09:09 AM

I'm beeing randomly kicked off the server, have no problems logging in though. This started today saturday 29th. Played all night yesterday with no problems what so ever and usualy have a very stable game. I've run those two test we are asked to run and even tried to renew the ip wich you also suggest.

First the Nettest

unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 2.109.182.202
Ping: 125.0 msec
Port: 80: 303 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 224 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 195 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 240 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 156 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 216 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 172 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 120 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 173 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 186 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 221 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 243 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 173 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec

Tracer test

Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rettigheder forbeholdes.

C:\Users\Kardos4ever>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Sporer rute til patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over et maksimum af 30 hop:

1 10 ms 1 ms <1 ms sagembox.home [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-1-2-0-1103.espnqu1.dk.ip.tdc.net [87.60.64.33
]
3 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms ae1-0.alb2nqp7.dk.ip.tdc.net [83.88.21.83]
4 61 ms 214 ms 203 ms te1-4.ccr01.cph01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.9]
5 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr21.ham01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.72.210]
6 47 ms 53 ms 52 ms te0-4-0-4.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.60.173]
7 47 ms 42 ms 47 ms te0-2-0-2.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.37.86]
8 134 ms 133 ms 128 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.197]
9 128 ms 132 ms 129 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
10 129 ms 140 ms 128 ms 38.111.40.114
11 128 ms 131 ms 132 ms 208.95.185.41

aranious 12-29-2012 12:47 PM

Yep having pretty much the exact same issues here, no bother logging in and connecting but as soon as the map loads I have exactly 5 seconds before I get kicked off it again. Played it for 6 hours straight last night with no issues so I highly doubt it's on my end.

thextremev3 12-29-2012 03:16 PM

same here, really bad dc ever few mins not playable atm. I have played since beta and never had this. Its normal really stable to be fair.

grouchyotaku 12-29-2012 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zauldjamin (Post 7277951)
I'm beeing randomly kicked off the server, have no problems logging in though. This started today saturday 29th. Played all night yesterday with no problems what so ever and usualy have a very stable game. I've run those two test we are asked to run and even tried to renew the ip wich you also suggest.

Tracer test
...
1 10 ms 1 ms <1 ms sagembox.home [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-1-2-0-1103.espnqu1.dk.ip.tdc.net [87.60.64.33
]
3 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms ae1-0.alb2nqp7.dk.ip.tdc.net [83.88.21.83]
4 61 ms 214 ms 203 ms te1-4.ccr01.cph01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.9]
5 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr21.ham01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.72.210]
6 47 ms 53 ms 52 ms te0-4-0-4.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.60.173]
7 47 ms 42 ms 47 ms te0-2-0-2.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.37.86]
8 134 ms 133 ms 128 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.197]
9 128 ms 132 ms 129 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]

10 129 ms 140 ms 128 ms 38.111.40.114
11 128 ms 131 ms 132 ms 208.95.185.41

This is a on-going issue with the Cogent Communication Hub located in Boston. Take a look at this on-going thread in the PWE Tech Support Forum for the latest information concerning this issue...

http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

Also, have you tried the use of the US Proxy setting in the Launcher? Some users have found it useful as a temporary fix for this issue...

xlocutusofborgx 12-30-2012 03:11 AM

Yep cant get past login, keeps giving me a white screen which the launcher should come up, and also launches IE for some odd reason.

dune300 12-30-2012 08:13 AM

Link two accounts.
 
Can't link two accounts

My characters are gone ?

Any tech support can help?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 AM.