Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Academy (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Tab Targeting (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=503511)

olivia211 01-02-2013 04:33 PM

Tab Targeting
 
I enjoy ground combat. One thing I got used to from my days playing another MMO was the ability to tab target (press Tab to move to the next, closest target). One thing I have found while playing STO is that when I tab target here, there are times when I will go to some target 50 meters away instead of something standing right in front of me. I will tab again and once more, it will select a target quite far off instead of something right in front of me.

At times, I will pretty much spam Tab and it will still not lock onto something standing in front of me so I have no choice but to mouse target it which can be annoying for someone like me who uses the mouse sparingly during missions.

My question is simply is there something I am not doing right? With my old MMO, it just auto targeted mobs in front of me. I realize this is a different game, different engine, so I am sure they made targeting a little different here. Is there any way to ensure that I get a target in front of me and not something 45-60 meters off in the distance? (Unless it's the next closest target of course) I have literally had mobs less than half a meter in front of me, yet the tab target will still select something much further away.

Any help or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

ussfury 01-02-2013 04:51 PM

If I remember correctly (I'd need to go in-game to test) I think tab targeting moves side to side (left/right) and forward to back (near/far). Pretty much fine in space combat, but not so hot on the ground where melee attacks and rushing are possible.

mbp101287 01-02-2013 09:13 PM

What you're dealing with is the default behavior for tab-targeting. If you would rather target the nearest enemy instead, you need to go to the keybinds tab in settings and set tab as the key for "target nearest enemy"

cmdrscarlet 01-03-2013 06:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbp101287 (Post 7331151)
What you're dealing with is the default behavior for tab-targeting. If you would rather target the nearest enemy instead, you need to go to the keybinds tab in settings and set tab as the key for "target nearest enemy"

Good gravy. Give this poster a medal!

Thank you olivia211 for askiing because I just experienced the same thing the other night and just dealt with it.

liquidraven26 01-03-2013 07:21 AM

After one of the last patches my Tab Targetting stopped working all together - I had to reset all my options to default and then it worked again.

ussfury 01-03-2013 01:36 PM

So THATs it! Yeah, I need to go in and change my setting too.

rifter1969 01-03-2013 03:02 PM

Bless Olivia and mbp!!!

I just started to wonder about that again.

Tried something with the keybinds a couple of months a go, but didn't work too well and gave up.


Brilliant!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.