Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Controls, User Interface, and the STO Gateway (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Why can't I take a screenshot? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=517461)

age03 01-17-2013 04:32 PM

Why can't I take a screenshot?
 
I keep using the /screenshot_ui or /screenshot_ui_jpg and print to screen and all i get in the ss without ui.I even used the keybind / <keybind> screenshot_ui_jpg.I picked the b ky as the bind like this / <b> screenshot_ui_jpg so that the b becomes the UI ss key.

What am I doing wrong here?

psycoticvulcan 01-17-2013 05:12 PM

/screenshot_ui_jpg (no print screen) should be working. If it's not, I don't really know what the problem would be.

Try function+print screen.

age03 01-18-2013 07:16 PM

I tried what you said and no luck any one else have any ideas.

fcsp1910 01-27-2013 08:22 AM

What OS you're using? If it is Win7, put the game in windowed mode and use the 'snipping tool', which can be found in Accessories. Works perfectly for me...

alax2011 02-03-2013 12:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by age03 (Post 7525351)
I keep using the /screenshot_ui or /screenshot_ui_jpg and print to screen and all i get in the ss without ui.I even used the keybind / <keybind> screenshot_ui_jpg.I picked the b ky as the bind like this / <b> screenshot_ui_jpg so that the b becomes the UI ss key.

What am I doing wrong here?

are you on steme version of the game?
cuz i think that version has hidden the ss folder for some reason (a fleet member had the same problem, donno if she found where it was, good luck hunting it down lol)

Also you can try
Print Screen

Start

All Programs

Accessories

Paint

Edit

Paste

File

Save As

File Name: Name of your Choice

Save type as: JPEG (*.JPG,*.JPEG,*.JPE,*.JFIF)

Then you have your Screenshot :D

sonofkyuss 02-19-2013 01:02 PM

Try Alt-Prt Scrn - it takes the UI with it in my Win 7

mordecaiwhite 01-15-2015 02:17 PM

Sorry for necro but I have a simple fix for this if you can still type /screenshot and it works ok...

I had this problem too so I used keybinds to just rebind the /screenshot function to another key.
I am using the Steam version of the game on Windows 7 and I can confirm that this works, even though my printscreen key no longer does.
I chose the "c" key because it's not already bound by default in space and makes me think "camera" or "capture".

The syntax is simple. Type the following into the chat window box:

/bind c screenshot

This will save a full-res .tga screenshot without the HUD into the Star Trek Online\Live\screenshots folder whenever the "c" key is pressed, just like the printscreen key used to.

For .jpg images (smaller file size but lower quality compressed image) just type:

/bind c screenshot_jpg

Enjoy!

comic1996 01-18-2015 04:04 PM

It could be arc that has a file for screen shots.

z3ndor99 01-18-2015 04:10 PM

You didn't say please into a mouse.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 PM.