Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   Using LOC for Foundry Object Placement? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=529371)

thehavraha 01-28-2013 10:45 AM

Using LOC for Foundry Object Placement?
 
Alright guys, as many of your know there's a lot of maps in the Foundry that are basically useless because they're so tiered, you really can't place objects in certain places on a horizontal map and be sure you're getting it where it needs to go vertically.

When the Foundry first launched, the way around this was to use the /LOC command line to get the exact placement of where you were standing so you could put your objects in the right place.

Well then someone decided to change all the Foundry measurements to something else, making /LOC entirely useless unless converted with math. What I'm trying to figure out is, what do I need to divide by to get the appropriate number here?

And Foundry devs, why can't we get this functionality built into the Foundry itself so we don't HAVE to do this? Without it, there are SEVERAL maps that are damn near impossible to build on.

castsbugc 01-28-2013 11:00 AM

provisionally it seems to be (<loc number> / 3.281) = real number. Now if this isnt 100% precise I welcome a refining of it, additionally I welcome this being implemented in the back end so that math isnt required everytime you want to use it :)

kirksplat 01-28-2013 11:23 AM

I just divide the X and Z by 3.28. The Y value is unreliable. I don't think there is a math trick for it.

markhawkman 01-28-2013 11:41 AM

It's simple... /loc reports coordinates in feet. Just convert from feet to meters using one of the formulas kirk and castsbugc posted. I'm not sure what the y value it reports is relative to.

kirksplat 01-28-2013 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by markhawkman (Post 7695431)
It's simple... /loc reports coordinates in feet. Just convert from feet to meters using one of the formulas kirk and castsbugc posted. I'm not sure what the y value it reports is relative to.

I think of the random Y number (usually something like 1176) as a guess of how many times I'm going to preview that map.

hippiejon 01-28-2013 03:53 PM

I love you guys.
All of you.
I want to give you a big group hug.
I learned something new today.
Thanks :)

kirksplat 01-28-2013 04:17 PM

I made a tutorial on this. It saves me a lot of time. It's not fun to do, but it really does save time.

http://starbaseugc.com/index.php/tra...ect-placement/

pendra3780 01-29-2013 12:40 PM

Nothing beats the freecam showcampos duo during streamlined map building. You have to know what you are doing thou.

lincolninspace 01-29-2013 03:28 PM

Has anyone else had to deal with the glitch when you build up in the sky an place all the objects at the same level say y= 900 for example and the building platform your using as the floor renders like 10 levels below everything else. I end up having to give the building block a higher y value just to make it match up.

kirksplat 01-29-2013 03:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lincolninspace (Post 7734211)
Has anyone else had to deal with the glitch when you build up in the sky an place all the objects at the same level say y= 900 for example and the building platform your using as the floor renders like 10 levels below everything else. I end up having to give the building block a higher y value just to make it match up.

You have your y set relative to the terrain, maybe. If it's relative to absolute zero then 900 should be the same for each thing.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.