Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Crash on startup loading screen (launcher is FINE) (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=537791)

metritutus 02-02-2013 01:17 PM

Crash on startup loading screen (launcher is FINE)
 
My game is crashing after I hit the Engage button. I see the loading screen with the Cryptic icon, the loading bar creeps along a little bit, and then crashes, and I get a Cryptic Error report which then attempts to send hundreds of megabytes of debugging information (at a max upload speed of around 60KB/s I've only let it do this once).

I have filed a support ticket on this, but I've only had one reply since the original automated acknolowledgement, and that itself appeared to be an automated message as well about the launcher issues that were going on earlier this week, and it was several days ago (the 29th).

I haven't played the game for several months (although I'm certain it WAS working when I stopped playing it), so I thought I'd get back to it a few days ago. I patched up the game and tried to run it and began experiencing the issue (I've not been able to play it at all). Some days after struggling with this issue I filed a support ticket as I've pretty much run out of ideas. My main concern right now is that I'm also missing the 3rd year anniversary event. I realise it ends on the 14th which is just under a couple of weeks away, but at the rate things are going I'm concerned those days are going to run out fast.

In the event someone who may be able to help sees this thread, I have tried the following (I also list some other pieces of information that may be relevant) (in no particular order):

I tried using a utility called Process Monitor to try and view just what the game was trying to access in case it could reveal the cause of the error, but I didn't have any luck in identifying the cause of the problem.

I was running the latest Catalyst driver (13.1), but updated to the beta driver to see if that fixed the issue. Sadly it did not.

I have tried running the game with all non-essential programs closed. I have also tried running the game whilst Windows was using Aero Basic, and I have also tried running it whilst Windows Firewall and Windows Defender were disabled.

I have tried force verifying the game's files, and running the game in its safe mode.

I have also tried launching the game directly from gameclient.exe, and I have tried running it as an Administrator and in compatability mode for various different operating systems in the list.

I have also tried deleting gameprefs.Pref (both of them), along with almost every game file except the largest ones, that I have only done one at a time as my internet speed isn't the fastest, and I wanted to avoid any unnecessary downloads. The only ones I haven't redownloaded are sound.hogg, texture.hogg, texture2.hogg and texture3.hogg.

I do not have TeamViewer or Desktop Fusion installed.

I have also tried running the game on only one monitor (I have two), but this didn't work either.

I do not run the game from Steam, nor has it ever been installed with Steam.

It's possible I might not have remembered everything I've tried, but I will update my post if I have forgotten anything and remember it later.

I also deleted Cryptic Error temporarilly in case I got a more revealing error as to what might be the problem. I was eventually able to see the following:

Quote:

Exception caught: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
Program: ...
SVN Revision: ST.25.20130105a.35 (SVN 141902(http://code/svn/StarTrek/Baselines/S...0105a.0(branch svn = 143161)) Gimme 01041318:40:31)(+incrs)
Time: Sat Feb 02 08:53:35 PM
Process ID: 3624


0 0x66756d80 (0,2fe04c,0,2fe034)SymGetSymFromAddr(): gle = 126
Line: --- (0)
Module: ???
1 GameClient.exe!010ecba7 (0,0,0,0)SymGetSymFromAddr(): gle = 487
Line: --- (0)
Module: GameClient.exe


Extra Info:
CPU: 2499 Mhz (4/4 cores) / RAM: 8190 MBs (6134 free) / Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series / Driver Ver: 9.14.10.960 / OS Ver: 6.1.7601 / VidMem: 1024 MBs / D3D11: Unknown
Acceptable video card driver

Heap is NOT corrupted
No windows SYSTEM error code found.
Although it mentions some of my specifications above, I will provide a few more specifics:

CPU: Q3800
GPU: Radeon HD6850
RAM: 8GB DDR2
Also worth mentioning is that I have a dedicated soundcard, an Asus Xonar STX Essence.


I did make a post about this in a similar thread a few days ago, but I'm not confident it was the same issue, and that thread seems to have died anyway.

If anyone can help or has ANY suggestions of any kind, I would greatly appreciate any of them bar reinstalling the operating system.

I'll be checking this thread frequently until I get this issue resolved. Thanks in advance.

wretchedmani 02-02-2013 01:53 PM

Not alone.
 
I have been having the same issue since Jan 30. The game was working fine one day, and then the next I tried to play and it does the same thing you are describing. I am not tech saavy, so I can't be of help. Just though it might make you feel better that it isn't just you.

idrona 02-02-2013 02:03 PM

The way you describe the crash is exactly what I once had on an older computer and STO.
In my case it was the craphics card that were too old and couldn't handle it.

That said I'd start by getting he latest drivers for your Radeon HD6850.

I'm Nvidia all the way but found this link for you, hope it helps:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#4

metritutus 02-02-2013 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by idrona (Post 7851301)
The way you describe the crash is exactly what I once had on an older computer and STO.
In my case it was the craphics card that were too old and couldn't handle it.

That said I'd start by getting he latest drivers for your Radeon HD6850.

I'm Nvidia all the way but found this link for you, hope it helps:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#4

Quote:

Originally Posted by metritutus (Post 7850681)
I was running Catalyst 13.1 drivers, but updated to the beta drivers to see if that fixed the issue.

Thanks for your suggestion, but I'm already running the latest driver. I'll add a clarification to my original post that it is the latest driver.

idrona 02-02-2013 02:20 PM

Hm.. Google suggests that it might actually be some bug with STO and AMD,

Tried search for: star trek online amd

Perhaps you can get answers there? :)


*Just did a Google for someone. lol*

metritutus 02-03-2013 01:50 PM

As another thing I've tried, today I set the Launcher options to disable On-Demand patching, and spent the entire day downloading an additional 4.8GB of data. Unfortunately this did not help resolve the issue for me.

Quote:

Originally Posted by idrona (Post 7851601)
Hm.. Google suggests that it might actually be some bug with STO and AMD,

Tried search for: star trek online amd

Perhaps you can get answers there? :)


*Just did a Google for someone. lol*

The results from those search terms seem to primarily relate to graphical rendering issues and such, rather than the crash I am experiencing.

theelec 02-04-2013 03:07 PM

I am having this problem too, running on Windows 7 x64 and have a Nvidia card so cannot be a problem with AMD.
Trying to replace the launcher with http://files.startrekonline.com/laun...k%20Online.exe did not work too.

wretchedmani 02-08-2013 11:03 PM

I was having the same problem. I was running on STEAM. I ended up downloading the game directly from STO and it is working now.

metritutus 02-09-2013 02:11 PM

As a last resort, I am currently performing a full uninstall and reinstall of the game. I'll post an update here for how it turns out.

bugspatteredjack 02-09-2013 02:13 PM

The game crashes my entire computer!! Never use to happen but recently it has happened every day over the course of the last week, usually 40 min into game time! :(


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.