Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   What happened to Ship Costumes in Dialogue? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=556141)

azurianstar 02-17-2013 01:59 AM

What happened to Ship Costumes in Dialogue?
 
I was about to add some new Dialogue in my Foundry mission and found out that I no longer can use Ship Costumes!

Why was this taken out??? :eek:




Cryptic, could you PLEASE put it back in?

markhawkman 02-17-2013 05:21 AM

Actually... it's not that hard to work around. You can create ground costumes that look like ship costumes and use those in dialogues.

azurianstar 02-17-2013 11:45 AM

Could you please share details on this workaround?


Use to be that if you made a custom ship costume, it was available as a dialogue contact. So if there is a way to get that back, by all means.

markhawkman 02-17-2013 01:42 PM

Hmm... DA is being uncooperative.... PM me your email and I'll email it.

stardestroyer001 02-17-2013 07:47 PM

I noticed this as well. I used to be able to select a Galaxy-class starship for a dialogue contact, now it doesn't even list any of the space related costumes.

If this is by accident, dunno what you did Cryptic, but it should be fixed :)

If this is intentional, please undo this "improved" function. It doesn't benefit the authors, who are trying to create interesting and creative missions.

azurianstar 02-17-2013 08:03 PM

Yes, accident or not, be nice if it could be put back in.

Given all the problems with bugs lately, might be a Foundry related bug.

Quote:

Originally Posted by markhawkman (Post 8135671)
Hmm... DA is being uncooperative.... PM me your email and I'll email it.

Sent the PM via the Forum mail.

markhawkman 02-17-2013 08:18 PM

Simple version:
1: create a ship costume that looks like the space contact and save it. Use either the export costume button in foundry or the costume save button in the shipyard.

2: create a new ground costume

3: use the load costume button to load the previously saved ship costume to the ground costume.

Now you have a ground contact that LOOKS like a space contact. There's a variety of potential uses for this, but one big one is that you can use it in dialogue boxes.

lincolninspace 02-17-2013 08:27 PM

so how do u get these to appear in ground maps?

markhawkman 02-17-2013 08:32 PM

That's simple. Once you have a ground costume that looks like a ship you can take any ground contact and reskin(change costume) them to look like a ship.

stardestroyer001 02-17-2013 08:36 PM

I see. Any chance that this will work in long-term, or is someone going to crack down on this too?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 AM.