Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Requrierments Program (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=55683)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:14 PM

Requrierments Program
 
If this isn't the right area for this please let me know, thankx in advanced.

I was wondering I'm not sure if my computer is gonna be able to run STO so can someone tell me if there is a program that tell you if your computer is capable of running the game like WOW and many other online games.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:18 PM

If you attach a dxdiag report here, I'm sure someone can take a look :-)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:30 PM

Have you looked at this page? It has the minimum requirements and the way to check your system specs.

http://www.startrekonline.com/download

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:30 PM

There you go. It will have to download a plugin, so if you have any script blocker extensions in your browser, you will need to enable the site.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coderanger
If you attach a dxdiag report here, I'm sure someone can take a look :-)

I know that I'm personally going to need to at minimum make some upgrades if I want to use my laptop. Can anyone make any suggestions? I'm usuing a dell inspiron 1520, and here is my dxdiag:

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600)
Processor: Intel Pentium Dual CPU T2330 @1.60 Ghz (2 CPUS)
Memory: 1014 MB RAM
DirectX: Version 9.0c
Graphics: (the default:) Mobile Intel 965 Express

I'm already planning on upgrading and found a good 2GB Ram stick. I assume a better Graphics card would be nice but I have no knowledge of laptop cards - any suggestions? Any other thing I may want to look for?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcellus (Post 1364902)
There you go. It will have to download a plugin, so if you have any script blocker extensions in your browser, you will need to enable the site.

Oh. Wow. Thanks for the link.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marcellus (Post 1364902)
There you go. It will have to download a plugin, so if you have any script blocker extensions in your browser, you will need to enable the site.

Thankx for the site help me to find out, sadly I can't play it.......think I'll hang myself now:(

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:03 PM

Quote:

I know that I'm personally going to need to at minimum make some upgrades if I want to use my laptop. Can anyone make any suggestions? I'm usuing a dell inspiron 1520, and here is my dxdiag:

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600)
Processor: Intel Pentium Dual CPU T2330 @1.60 Ghz (2 CPUS)
Memory: 1014 MB RAM
DirectX: Version 9.0c
Graphics: (the default:) Mobile Intel 965 Express

I'm already planning on upgrading and found a good 2GB Ram stick. I assume a better Graphics card would be nice but I have no knowledge of laptop cards - any suggestions? Any other thing I may want to look for?
Laptops don't generally have upgradable graphics cards, so you will likely need to get a new laptop.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coderanger
Laptops don't generally have upgradable graphics cards, so you will likely need to get a new laptop.

didn't feel this was worth a new thread, but if I have an Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT, I can run the game right?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coderanger
Laptops don't generally have upgradable graphics cards, so you will likely need to get a new laptop.

Ah. So my admitted lack of laptop knowledge shows. Thats okay. I have a desktop I know will run it was just hoping. Thanks.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.