Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Whats with the 10gb patch (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=55735)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:49 PM

Whats with the 10gb patch
 
Downloaded from D2D and now i am patchin 10gb/s insted of the 14 everyone else is anyway to solve this problem do i need to uninstal and re download the client or what?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:50 PM

This is the second report of this we have had from D2D. What OS are you running and where did you install the game to?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:52 PM

Windows 7 64 bit and just installed it to my user file.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:09 PM

Can you be more specific, I need the exact path.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:16 PM

Got a 10 gig patch myself using xp sp2

had the correct .0 or whatever from D2D after uninstalling and reinstalling after yesterdays fiasco

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xid
The .zip file from D2D was 7.65gb. The game's install folder shows the contents to be 7.64 gb.

what size is it supposed to be?

I currently have the game launched and am sitting at the login in screen (the one with the music) so the game appears to be working.

Xid

You should be fine, thats the same size as my game folder. The .01GB is just the setup.exe.


Hmm, how did my post get above yours?.. hax.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:33 PM

The .zip file from D2D was 7.65gb. The game's install folder shows the contents to be 7.64 gb.

what size is it supposed to be?

I currently have the game launched and am sitting at the login in screen (the one with the music) so the game appears to be working.

Edit: Oh and when I attempt to login, I get a screen (planet in the background and such) that has the version number of "ST.0.20100108a.0"

If Cryptic can confirm that is the correct version number and that's the same number you see...does it matter how big or small the patch was?

Xid

Archived Post 01-12-2010 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pwndyou
Downloaded from D2D and now i am patchin 10gb/s insted of the 14 everyone else is anyway to solve this problem do i need to uninstal and re download the client or what?

This thread gives the reason for the 10GB patch issue.

http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=55199

After the closed beta access to everyone hiccup on Sunday, some people did an uninstall and then a new install. The install happens just fine with no errors, however most of the data is gone due to the previous uninstall action.

You see, it appears that the installer moves files from the download directory to the install directory instead of copying them. So, when you uninstall, they go bye bye.

If you don't want your download files messed up when you install (i.e., you want to keep a copy in case you need to re-install later), make sure you copy the download directory before doing the install.

Hope this helps. I expect many many many players to have this issue come Tuesday morning, and they are likely to be a bit ticked.

Afterall, who opened up beta to everyone yesterday anyway?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 AM.