Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Two clients on the same pc? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=55744)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:54 PM

Two clients on the same pc?
 
Hello,

Is it possible to have two clients installed on the same pc?
I have the CB ready to go OB, and am downloading the Steam client as we speak.

I do not want to delete the CB client before I'll know for sure what is the Steam download, but I'm afraid having two installations will somehow screw with the files/registry entries.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 06:55 PM

I think it might be possible, I don't see why not, the installer doesn't actually seem to do anything to the registry other than add shortcuts and where the application data goes.









...This forum requires that you wait 45 seconds between posts. Please try again in 13 seconds. Khaaaaan!

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:19 PM

Any official reply?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:43 PM

Once the Steam install completes, it will overwrite the old reg entires. Nothing will break, but your old files will orphaned so make sure you clean them up yourself.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 07:54 PM

I just started the download so far that it gave me the key, stopped the load and registered the key, and bam. Closed beta client patched up is what I use. :)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 08:05 PM

If you had the CB client Cryptic said you can patch it up to the retail version, I'm not going to bother reloading the game from steam once i pay for the pre order. The only reason im going steam or Digital is to get the keys / activation. I did the same with the last two beta's I was in.. =)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 08:10 PM

The catch with Steam is, they don't give the key until you start the download.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 11:49 PM

would there be a way to transfer over the closed beta to the steam location and make steam verify the game and think its downloaded?

The files would be the same right, and after the root/base directory its all the same.

I cant afford to download it on steam till my cap is reset.

Archived Post 01-12-2010 12:06 AM

You can purchase from steam, get the key and then just use the CB patched client to OB without using steam. Just use your login info and bobs ur uncle. No need to go thru steam just because you bought from there.

Archived Post 01-12-2010 12:12 AM

1st off anyone who knows a bit about steam fileing system is that they dont put stuff in the normal way we are use to. so there for it will NOT update old files and it will a completly new install of the game in a different file and there for take up another base of 8GB til you update once your updated it will move up to almost 12GBs of extra wasted space. I know this for a fact 1 I have and use steam for some games and 2 I have looked to see where steam places there stuff.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 AM.