Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Windows and General: PC, Network, and Other Technical Issues (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=401)
-   -   Will my PC run game? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=55905)

Archived Post 01-11-2010 08:26 PM

Will my PC run game?
 
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2850e, 1800 Mhz, 1 Core(s), 1 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 1.75 GB
Total Virtual Memory 3.60 GB
Available Virtual Memory 2.35 GB
NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430

Archived Post 01-11-2010 08:30 PM

Unfortunately, It won't be able to run STO.

STO is designed to run on computers with at least two cores. Your single core barely meets the minimum requirements in terms of GHZ. And your video card is way too old. You'll have to invest in a new computer.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 08:38 PM

This is a good resource to try. It takes your computer information and runs it against the minimum and suggested requirements and lets you know what falls short if any.

http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/srtest/

Archived Post 01-11-2010 09:28 PM

will the game not let you play if you GC and CPU do's mach up?

Archived Post 01-11-2010 09:31 PM

it will prevent it's own installation or runtime if min specs are not met

Archived Post 01-11-2010 09:59 PM

Sorry guys, but you are both wrong. The game will still install if you do not meet the mininum requirements... I installed the game on a Celeron M 900 running at 2.2 Ghz, which is a single core, and the Intel on Board Gfx card, and it even launches and plays on minimum settings...

It even failed the test at http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/srtest/ for CPU, GPU.

So please don't go and give wrong advice to people.

Archived Post 01-11-2010 11:40 PM

It will install, though it should complain on start up. If you really want to play in slideshow-mode we won't stop you :-) (we just also won't really be able to help you with much)

Archived Post 01-12-2010 12:26 AM

I just used the link above to check my laptop and while it said that my laptop failed the minimum requirements I know that it ran in CB well enough for me. I did have to turn down much of the world graphics and did reduce the FX and character graphics as well but I ran into few problems running the game.

Just FYI here's the results of the test:


CPU: PASS
Minimum - Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 GHz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Me - AMD Athlon Dual-Core QL-62

CPU SPEED: PASS
Minimum - 1.8 GHz
Me - 2.00 GHz

RAM: PASS
Minimum - 1 GB
Me - 1.7 GB

OS: PASS
Minimum - Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
Me - Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, 32-bit (Build Service Pack 16001)

VIDEO CARD: FAIL (I suspect the fact that it's a laptop threw it off a bit)
Minimum - NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Me - GeForce 8200M G

under the Video Card listing it breaks it down a bit, oddly enough I passed everything it listed

Video Ram
Required - 256 MB
I have - 880.0 MB

Hardware T&L
Required - Yes
I have - Yes

Pixel Shader version
Required - 3.0
I have - 4.0

Vertex Shader version
Required - 3.0
I have - 4.0

It of course also passed the requirements for the Sound Card and free disk space. I do find it odd that it failed the video card, but in it's breakdown of that catagory it passed everything.

Archived Post 01-12-2010 12:36 AM

That can you run it software isn't very good at detecting stuff. It says my processor isn't good enough, but I have a Dual Core 3.6ghz processor.

Now my question is that I have an older MSI Nvidia GeForce 7800 GTX with 1GB video ram. Technically this is like one model or two below the "minimum cut-off"

I think its capable of handling it but I'm more worried that the system will say its not high enough. I can go get a new card before the official release, but I'd probably miss the beta period, so that would suck.

What do you guys think?

Archived Post 01-12-2010 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qualifried
it will prevent it's own installation or runtime if min specs are not met

My GPU 7600GT is just below min specs and has been running fine. Never an issue at all.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 PM.