Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   The Foundry for Star Trek Online - Discussion & Feedback (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=204)
-   -   Move player? (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=586141)

remairtamec 03-17-2013 08:21 AM

Move player?
 
Is it possible to move to player to a new spawn/respawn point? Cryptic maps do this a lot to cut down on load times, simply building several sections in the same map which you then jump around, such as by turbolifts. Is there any way to do this or do you have to create a new map to say move a player from one deck to another in the Defiant indoor map?

Cheers

lincolninspace 03-17-2013 08:31 AM

You can do this with triggers. for example have the player enter a turbolift and interact with an invisible object or reach marker, and have the room components behind set to go invisible on component complete. A great example of this is in alimac30's spirits of ramok nor. you interact with a door on ds9 and walls and props spawn around you putting you in another room.

remairtamec 03-17-2013 10:32 AM

Thanks for the response, but the main issue I am having is with the ready-built maps such as the Defiant interior which is built in two parts. Right now if I want to use both parts I have to make two copies of the map and act as if each half is separate with a loading screen between them. Just seemed a bit odd that the built-in maps aren't able to be used in the Foundry as the asset was originally designed.

Unless there is a way to hide the starting map asset to begin with? I've not found a way to do this, only been able to hide/show items I place into the map.

It isn't a big issue, it will just lead to my project having a few more loading screens than I had hoped.

lincolninspace 03-17-2013 12:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by remairtamec (Post 8628501)
Thanks for the response, but the main issue I am having is with the ready-built maps such as the Defiant interior which is built in two parts. Right now if I want to use both parts I have to make two copies of the map and act as if each half is separate with a loading screen between them. Just seemed a bit odd that the built-in maps aren't able to be used in the Foundry as the asset was originally designed.

Unless there is a way to hide the starting map asset to begin with? I've not found a way to do this, only been able to hide/show items I place into the map.

It isn't a big issue, it will just lead to my project having a few more loading screens than I had hoped.

Ya you cannot change that. The science wall and building assets are basically Deferi so you could build a map from scratch.

kirksplat 03-17-2013 01:56 PM

There is a way if each set is fairly close to each other. Pendra did it in one of his missions.

If you can trap the player in geometry (via triggers that drop walls and stuff onto the player), he will be ported to the nearest spawn point. If that is the original, he'll go back to start. However if he is closer to the respawn, set on the other map, then he goes to that respawn, across the black space between the maps.

This is how it works. Getting it to work reliably regardless of exactly where the player is standing is more difficult. I've had trouble getting it to work right 100% of the time, but it seems to work 100% for Pendra, unless I'm mistaken.

I won't use it, unless I can make it work 100% of the time.

Also, if you can get it to work right, it leaves the away team behind, trapped in the geometry.

markhawkman 03-17-2013 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kirksplat (Post 8632041)
There is a way if each set is fairly close to each other. Pendra did it in one of his missions.

If you can trap the player in geometry (via triggers that drop walls and stuff onto the player), he will be ported to the nearest spawn point. If that is the original, he'll go back to start. However if he is closer to the respawn, set on the other map, then he go to that respawn, across the black space between the maps.

This is how it works. Getting it to work reliably regardless of exactly where the player is standing is more difficult. I've had trouble getting it to work right 100% of the time, but it seems to work 100% for Pendra, unless I'm mistaken.

I won't use it, unless I can make it work 100% of the time.

Also, if you can get it to work right, it leaves the away team behind, trapped in the geometry.

It works best in enclosed spaces. I've managed to trigger it outside enclosed spaces, but it's erratic to say the least.

pendra3780 03-17-2013 04:04 PM

There are 2 ways to teleport the player to the nearest unlocked respawn point. One is via the teleport trick and the other is via killing him/her.

The only object which worked well with the teleport trick is the turbolift. Everything else is a hit and miss. You may be teleported, pushed aside, or trapped inside the object. Needless to say, that trapping the players will not help your ratings. Also the tick is one shot show and teleports the player only. The BOFFs stay behind.
I think the turbolift works well because it is very confined and inside out object and it confuses the hell out of the engine.

The other is to kill off the player. It is one shot again, but at least it brings the BOFFs along. You have to be veeery carefull with it. If you kill the player too early, you can mess up the mission royally. So you have to make sure there is either no fight at all, or some very light fight prior the kill event. You also have to explain somehow where the bunch of angry captain mobs, spawned on the top of your head came from. And then how come you are not dead, but at the other section of the ship.

remairtamec 03-18-2013 02:17 AM

Thanks again for all the responses. Looking at how things are now I think I'll stick with custom maps fading in and out and straight map transitions on the default ones. There seems to be a little too much that can go wrong with this and personally I would prefer a couple of extra loading screens to getting stuck and having to quit the level.

It's still something I can think about for future missions but ask Kirkfat said, I'd only really be comfortable putting something like this in if it was going to work 100% of the time. Even working 90% of the time... that's 10% of people who play a broken mission.

Thanks :) I'm sorry for all the posts over the last few weeks, even after watching a few hours of tutorial videos the Foundry is a complicated master. This subforum has got to be one of the most helpful I've come across *thumbsup*.

markhawkman 03-18-2013 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pendra3780 (Post 8634391)
There are 2 ways to teleport the player to the nearest unlocked respawn point. One is via the teleport trick and the other is via killing him/her.

The only object which worked well with the teleport trick is the turbolift. Everything else is a hit and miss. You may be teleported, pushed aside, or trapped inside the object. Needless to say, that trapping the players will not help your ratings. Also the tick is one shot show and teleports the player only. The BOFFs stay behind.
I think the turbolift works well because it is very confined and inside out object and it confuses the hell out of the engine.

I think it's a variation of the pushing trick. If an object spawns on top of the player it will "push" the player out of the way. But, in this case it pushes the player into something else and panics.

In "The Beta Rana Incident", if you stand in the exact center of the crystal console before placing the data crystals it will teleport you. But... you have to stand in the EXACT center. If you don't it doesn't push you into one of the console peices, but off to the side a little.

Thus I think that it works well with the turbolift because there's nowhere else to push the player to.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 PM.