Star Trek Online

Star Trek Online (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/index.php)
-   Gameplay Bug Reports (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   BUG: Anti-Aliasing Cannot Be Enabled (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=59031)

Archived Post 01-13-2010 04:06 AM

BUG: Anti-Aliasing Cannot Be Enabled
 
I have a Radeon HD 4870 X2, I know for a fact my GPU supports it, so this is definately a bug, please see the screenshot below to see what I mean, the mouse icon, which is missing from the screenshot is hovered over the Antialiasing option:

http://i48.tinypic.com/25po68j.png

Archived Post 01-13-2010 04:16 AM

I dont want to sound rude, but you should read the patch notes, AA has been disabled for some video cards

Archived Post 01-13-2010 04:19 AM

There was a nasty bug found with ATI video cards and AA enabled. Some of the visual effects started acting like strobe lights that just sucked all system resources until the system ran at a snails pace. Even on machines that had monster video cards the effect was so large it filled the screen making it impossible to see anything else while it was going on.

Archived Post 01-13-2010 04:36 AM

Well, guess I'll stop playing until the fix it, and the gameplay in general. Actually, at this point STO is a bug itself!

Archived Post 01-13-2010 05:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlauzon (Post 1397244)
Well, guess I'll stop playing until the fix it, and the gameplay in general. Actually, at this point STO is a bug itself!

at what point didn't you understand "beta"? And how long it will take you to realize that AA is possible on any modern card??

Archived Post 01-13-2010 05:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EaglePryde (Post 1397725)
at what point didn't you understand "beta"? And how long it will take you to realize that AA is possible on any modern card??

Closed Alpha, Closed Beta, Open Beta MMO experience: 10+ years
Gaming experience: 30 years
Computer experience: 30 years

Cryptic doesn't know how to code properly for non-nVIDIA GPUs, have you ever seen how crappy City of Heroes/City of Villians is on an ATi GPU!

Archived Post 01-13-2010 05:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlauzon (Post 1397823)
Closed Alpha, Closed Beta, Open Beta MMO experience: 10+ years
Gaming experience: 30 years
Computer experience: 30 years

Cryptic doesn't know how to code properly for non-nVIDIA GPUs, have you ever seen how crappy City of Heroes/City of Villians is on an ATi GPU!

You like to whine and complain a lot dont you?

For the record I dont care how much "experience" you have in the industry the fact is is that its beta. The game is not expected to work properly and if you have an issue with ATI's cards then get a nVidia card.

Archived Post 01-13-2010 06:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlauzon (Post 1397823)
Closed Alpha, Closed Beta, Open Beta MMO experience: 10+ years
Gaming experience: 30 years
Computer experience: 30 years

Cryptic doesn't know how to code properly for non-nVIDIA GPUs, have you ever seen how crappy City of Heroes/City of Villians is on an ATi GPU!


And yet you didn't notice that NCSoft has been in controll of CoH/CoV almost since those games went out and that it's NCSoft's job to improve those games and not Cryptic since they don't have anything to do with them anymore.

Oh wel...a troll will be a troll no matter what angle you look at them...

Archived Post 01-13-2010 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlauzon (Post 1397244)
Well, guess I'll stop playing until the fix it, and the gameplay in general. Actually, at this point STO is a bug itself!

This is probably one of the most petty reasons to quit that I've ever seen in an MMO forum. You're going to stop playing because you can't enable anti-aliasing? I agree that it would look better with AA, but it in no way impacts my gameplay experience.

Archived Post 01-13-2010 08:31 AM

There have been more than a few games that have released with issues enabling AA on ATI hardware (espeically on X2 and crossfire configurations). This is not an unusual issue by any stretch of the imagination.

I will be disappointed if it is not fixed by launch, but I consider it a low priority issue in the grand scheme of things.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 AM.